The 28th Annual Gustavus High School Honor Band Festival

Dr. James Patrick Miller, conductor
Dr. Dave Stamps, jazz director
November 6–7, 2016

Dear Colleagues,

As the Douglas Nimmo Professor of the Gustavus Wind Orchestra and director of the Gustavus Honor Band Festival, I am delighted to announce the 28th Annual Gustavus Honor Band Festival. The festival will take place Sunday, November 1, and Monday, November 2, 2015. Bringing together students from Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Illinois, and Wisconsin for two days of music performance, this festival will feature faculty clinics, workshops for teachers, rehearsals, and a concert in Gustavus’s magnificent Christ Chapel under the direction of myself and my faculty colleagues Dr. Karrin Meffert-Nelson, Dr. Heidi Johanna Miller, and Dr. Dave Stamps. The finale concert will feature the High School Honor Band, Jazz Honor Band, and the renowned Gustavus Wind Orchestra.

This year we are excited to continue the successful Jazz Honor Band we began last year, and plan to host two large all-state caliber concert bands. Based upon the incredible response to last year’s festival (250+ students from 60 high schools), this year we will again accommodate as many outstanding high school musicians as possible!

Along with their honor band rehearsals and performances, student participants will be treated to concert performances by the Gustavus Wind Orchestra, the Gustavus Jazz Lab Band, and masterclasses on their instruments with our GAC music faculty.

Students are selected following a nomination by their high school music teachers, private instructors, and conductors via an online nomination form (see link below). Whether you have nominated students each year for decades, or you have not yet participated, I sincerely hope that this year you will nominate all deserving students in your program.

The Gustavus Honor Band is a highlight each year for all of us involved, and this year will be a truly special event. We look forward to working with all of you and your students. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me at

The participation fee for selected students into the Gustavus Honor Band is $25.00 (per student). There is no fee to nominate students. Directors may nominate as many students as they feel deserve the honor.

The nomination deadline is September 25, 2016. Nomination forms may be received after this date, but space will be limited.