Health Professions

Career Interest Cluster

Welcome Pre-Health Students!


Follow us on Instagram gustavushealthprofessions

Podcast_intro

Podcast Season One, click HERE

The Health Profession Cluster contains career areas that focus on patient care. Support and advice is available to students considering a range of health professions, some include:

Health Profession Vitals bi-weekly emails, HERE

 

Current Applicant Information: Successful Applicant Series Workshops

Gustavus Letter of Recommendation Online System 2021-2022 Applicant cycle
Gustavus Letter of Recommendation Online System, Current pre-health applicants (MD, DO, PA, Dental, Pharmacy, PT, OT and Veterinary) complete form to request letters. 

AAMC Letter Writing Guidelines Brochure 

Additional information: References and Letters of Recommendation


Additional areas of interest:

Pre-Health Faculty Resource Page

Profiles for the Class of 2020

Health Profession Clubs 2020-2021

Pre-Health Club (Medicine, Physician Assistant, Pharmacy) ALL meeting first Sunday @ 5pm
Co-Presidents: Tyra Banks, tbanks2@gustavus.edu, Clara Billings, cbilling@gustavus.edu

Pre-Dental Club, Co-Presidents: Nick Aney, naney@gustavus.edu, Emily Kratz, ekratz@gustavus.edu

Gustavus Pre-Physical Therapy/Occupational Therapy Club, President: Kendall Harvey, kharvey@gustavus.edu

Pre-Vet Club, President: Julia Simms jsimms@gustavus.edu


Coming soon, Fall 2021 Small Group Pre-Health Advising Session, Register here

Interested in receiving opportunities and more information regarding the Health Professions cluster?

Sign up through Handshake to receive emails and notifications for this cluster! 

  1. Log-in to Handshake with your Gustavus User Name and Password
  2. On the top of the page under your name click on Career Interests
  3. Scroll down to Which Gustavus Career Cluster best matches your interests? Check Health Professions

A tutorial on choosing and changing clusters on Handshake can be found here.

Explore the Health Professions

Gustavus Pre-Health Workshops

The University of Minnesota FREE Online Short Courses

Contact

To schedule an appointment with Heather or Heidi, call 507-933-7575, email, or stop in to the Career Development Office- 209 Johnson Student Union. 

Heather
Heather Banks, Senior Career Development Specialist - Health Professions, hbanks@gustavus.edu, 507-933-7575 To schedule a virtual appointment email, hbanks@gustavus.edu

Specialist areas: Medicine, Pharmacy, Dentistry, Optometry, Speech/Language Pathology, Podiatry and other not listed areas.

Heidi

Heidi Selzler-Bahr, Career Development Specialist - Health Professions, hselzlerbahr@gustavus.edu, 507-933-7575 To schedule a virtual appointment email, hselzlerbahr@gustavus.edu

Specialist areas: Physician Assistant, Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Veterinary Medicine, Nursing, Surgical First Assistant, Public Health or still deciding.

20159_students_Dahl_Kathryn_med__xx-1024x724-1

Kat Dahl ’14. (Photo credit: University of Minnesota Medical School, Duluth Campus) Read more about Kat Dahl 

Updated 8/26/2020 HB