Welcome Health Profession Students!


Kat Dahl ’14. (Photo credit: University of Minnesota Medical School, Duluth Campus and photographer David Ballard)

Growing up as the daughter of a family practice physician in the small town of Luverne, Minn., 2014 Gustavus Adolphus College graduate Kat Dahl was always interested in helping others.  Read more...

Support and advice is available to students considering a range of health professions, some include:

Additional areas of interest:

Explore all the different opportunities in the Health Professions @ Explore Health Careers

Health Professions Advising Faculty Team


Biology:  Margaret Bloch Qazi mqazi@gustavus.edu

Biology:  Eric Elias

Biology:  Sanjive Qazi

*And additional faculty in the Biology Department


Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and Chemistry:  Jeff Dahlseid  dahlseid@gustavus.edu 

Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and Chemistry: Heather Haemig  hhaemig@gustavus.edu


Health and Exercise Science, Health Fitness:  Stephanie Otto  sotto@gustavus.edu

Health and Exercise Science, Athletic Training:  Mary Joos  mjoos@gustavus.edu

Health Professions Advising Director

Heather Banks, Career Development

hbanks@gustavus.edu, 507-933-7575


U of M and Gustavus teamed up to offer FREE Online Short Courses

Planning for Medical School

Personal Statements for a Health Program

Interviewing for a Health Program

Global Ambassadors for Patient Safety

Gustavus Pre-Health Workshops

First Year Pre-Health

Successful Applicant Series: Centralized Application, Personal Statement, Interview Like a Ninja


Gustavus Letter of Recommendation Online System

Current pre-health applicants (MD, DO, PA, Dental, Pharmacy, PT, OT and Veterinary) complete form to request letters.

AAMC Letter Writing Guidelines for Medical School Applicant 


Schedule an Appointment: Online scheduling system


Updated 11/19/15 HB