The Gustavus Faculty Service Award

The Provost's Office invites you to nominate a faculty member for the Gustavus Faculty Service Award. Past award winners are listed below. Accomplishments from both Gustavus service and wider-community or professional service are appropriate.

Please take a few moments to nominate a faculty member whose service has improved the College:

  • through leadership in the governance of the College, in an academic department or program, in the faculty and its committees, or in other college positions
  • through leadership and service in professional and/or public organizations, boards, or commissions related to the academic field(s) or assignments
  • through specific projects and initiatives that have enhanced the quality the College's programs and advanced its goals.

Please submit nominations by April 15, 2017

Log in to save time on this form!
Award Nomination

Please be specific and give concrete examples.

You will be charged .

The following is a list of previous winners. Please nominate someone who has not previously received the award. (Those currently on the faculty are indicated in bold print.)

Previous Gustavus Faculty Service Award Winners
2015 Rick Orpen Music
2014 Max Hailperin Mathematics, Computer Science, and Statistics
2013 Lois Peterson Art and Art History
2012 Chuck Niederriter Physics
2011 John Cha Religion
2010 Eric Eliason English
2009 Carolyn Dobler Mathematics, Computer Science, and Statistics
2008 Florence Amamoto English
2007 Jeanne Herman Health and Exercise Science
2006 Barbara Kaiser Mathematics, Computer Science, and Statistics
2005 Will Freiert Classics
2004 David Fienen Music
1990 Ron Green Education
1990 Nancy Baker Health and Exercise Science
1989 Donald Ostrom Political Science
1988 Ellis Jones Economics and Management
1988 Clair Johnson Religion
1988 Richard Fuller Physics
1987 Ann Lydecker Education
1987 Ron Christenson Political Science
1986 Milton Brostrom Mathematics and Computer Science