The Gustavus Scholarly Accomplishment Award

The Office of the Provost is pleased to announce the annual Gustavus Scholarly Accomplishment Award. This award is intended to be the highest accolade a Gustavus faculty member can receive for distinguished scholarly achievements.


An honorarium of $1,000 will be presented at Honors Day.


This award is open to any Gustavus faculty member. Past winners are listed below.

Evaluation Criteria

Nominations will be reviewed for demonstrated exceptional scholarly achievements. The following criteria may be considered in preparing a nomination:

  • Research activities in private, public, or corporate settings
  • Publications
  • Presentations at scholarly meetings or conferences
  • Exhibits or performances

Please support nominations with details such as:

  • Particular books, articles, performances, or exhibits that merit public acclaim
  • Examples of the recognition and respect the nominee has earned within their discipline (e.g., reviews, invitations to speak, positions in professional organizations)


Nominations will be accepted from administrators, faculty, students, or oneself (individuals ought not feel reluctant to self-nominate). Re-nominations are welcome. Nominations are due annually by April 15.

Log in to save time on this form!
Award Nomination

Accepted formats: .doc, .docx, .pdf

Oops! It looks like you have javascript disabled. You must have javascript enabled to be able to upload files.

Add file...

Please be specific and give concrete examples.

You will be charged

The following is a list of previous winners. Please nominate someone who has not previously received the award. (Those currently on the faculty are indicated in bold print.)

Previous Gustavus Scholarly Accomplishment Award Winners
Year Name Department
2022 Thia Cooper Religion
2021 Maddalena Marinari History
2020 None due to COVID N/A
2019 Casey Elledge Religion
Paschal Kyoore
Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
2017 Jill Locke Political Science
2016 Dwight Stoll
2015 Lisa Heldke Philosophy
2014 Deane Curtin Philosophy
2013 Janine Wotton Psychological Science
2012 Elizabeth Baer English
2011 Eric Dugdale Classics
2010 Peg O'Connor Philosophy
2009 (tie) Eric Carlson History
2009 (tie) Barbara Fister Library
2008 Linnea Wren Art and Art History
2007 Christopher Gilbert Political Science
2006 Mark Kruger Psychological Science
2005 Michael Hvidsten Mathematics, Computer Science, and Statistics
2004 Joyce Sutphen English
1990 Thomas Emmert History
1989 Rich Hilbert Sociology and Anthropology
1989 Marlene Flory Classics
1988 Lawrence Potts Chemistry
1988 Stewart Flory Classics
1988 Ann Brady English
1987 Byron Nordstrom History
1987 William Dean Religion
1987 Ron Christenson Political Science
1986 Conrad Hyers Religion