Student Orgs

Gustavus Ambassadors

Student Organization Name
Gustavus Ambassadors
Type
Academic / Honorary
Statement Of Purpose/ Mission
Gustavus Ambassadors exists to enhance the public image of Gustavus Adolphus College and assist present administrative offices, including: Alumni Relations, Church Relations, Institutional Advancement, President’s Office, and Special Events in attaining their goals. This body of student leaders is devoted to exemplifying the viability of the college's credo by acting as a resource for the greater Gustavus Community. Member will represent student leadership and opinion in an articulate manner, promote the positive image of the college at all times, and respond to the college's needs. Members strive to support each other and the community by acting with professionalism and showing high integrity during activities and interactions. While hosting events, it is our goal to provide a fun, comfortable, and enthusiastic atmosphere for all. Gustavus Ambassadors is an organization that continually seeks to grow as a group, while encouraging personal growth within each member.
Constitution
CONSTITUTION OF THE GUSTAVUS AMBASSADORS ARTICLE I: NAME The name of this organization shall be the Gustavus Ambassadors. ARTICLE II: PURPOSE The mission of the Gustavus Ambassadors is to enhance the public image of Gustavus Adolphus College and assist present administrative offices including Alumni Relations, Church Relations, Institutional Advancement, President’s Office, and Special Events in attaining their goals. ARTICLE III: MEMBERSHIP Section 1: Eligibility: Ambassadors must be enrolled as full-time students in good academic and disciplinary standing with the College. They must maintain a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0. Section 2: Selection & Application Procedure: The selection process is conducted by a committee of Ambassadors. The selection process consists of a written application, a group interview, and an individual interview for those candidates determined qualified to proceed to the final round. Section 3: Attendance: Ambassadors must attend meetings monthly throughout the academic year. They must also attend the Group Process interview day as well as the fall orientation and training dinner, held the second week of the semester. Unexcused absences are cause for dismissal from the organization at the discretion of the co-presidents and advisor. Section 4: Behavior: An Ambassador may be removed from the organization at the discretion of the co-presidents and advisor for not effectively carrying out the duties of an Ambassador. ARTICLE IV: OFFICERS Section 1: The duties of each office are described as follows: A. Co-President 1. To organize and preside over meetings 2. To function as a spokesperson for the organization 3. To facilitate communication between executive board members 4. To coordinate spring recruitment, selection, and application processes 5. To plan and facilitate fall training and orientation B. Secretary 1. To monitor attendance (both within monthly meetings and at Ambassadors events) 2. Be responsible for Meeting Minutes 3. To schedule and keep members informed of upcoming meetings and events 4. To perform any addition administrative tasks C. Liaisons 1. To maintain relationships with administrative offices on campus 2. To communicate to upcoming events and subsequent responsibilities to members Section 2: The term of office begins at the beginning of September, with the month of May serving as a transition month between old and new officers. The term of office shall last for one calendar year. Any vacancies during the year shall be announced to the membership at the meeting following the vacancy. Nominations shall be taken and voting shall occur at the meeting. If no one is nominated, the President can appoint a member to that position. ARTICLE V: MEETINGS Section 1: Meetings will be held a minimum of once a month during the academic year. The Secretary is responsible for informing members of meetings. The President will set the agenda for the meetings with input from all members and Executive Board members. Section 2: The President or Advisor has the capability of calling special meetings for any matters they feel cannot wait until the next regularly scheduled meeting. Members must be given at least 3 days notice of any special meetings. ARTICLE VI: FINANCES Section 1: The Ambassadors receive honorariums from departments across the campus that utilize their organization for hosting and other duties at events throughout the year. These funds are to assist with host training and Ambassador shirts and name badges to wear for these events. The group maintains a student organization (9-line) account in which to deposit funds and pay for items at the discretion of the Greeters with the approval of the advisor. Section 2: As a recognized student organization, the Ambassadors may apply to Student Senate for funding congruent with the Senate finance guidelines. Section 3: Upon dissolution of the Ambassadors, any financial assets will be credited to the Office of Institutional Advancement (their primary benefactor). Date of Ratification: February, 2013
Affiliations
None.
Application Type
apply
Website
http://orgs.gustavus.edu/ambassadors/
Members
RoleOrganization TitleFull NameE-mail
AdvisorAdvisorAnn Volkavolk@gustavus.edu
PresidentCo-PresidentBrian Simonsbsimons@gustavus.edu
PresidentCo-PresidentJenny Doedenjdoeden@gustavus.edu
OtherEvents ChairAnna Schulteaschult4@gustavus.edu
SecretarySecretary Jenna Legattjlegatt@gustavus.edu
Risk ManagerEvents ChairBrittany Rognessbrognes3@gustavus.edu
TreasurerTreasurer Samantha Bankssbanks@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberCarl Croninccronin@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberCaitlin Bondecbonde@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberKelsey Abelekabele@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberZach Berganzbergan@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberAva Goepfertagoepfer@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberMeg Wikamwika@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberEllen Kruegerekruege2@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberShelby Wildsswilds@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberMari Aunemaune2@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberJack Healyjhealy@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberMatthew Kellermkeller@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberBrittany Knutsonbknutso2@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberMatthew Timmonsmtimmons@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberErin Traxleretraxler@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberLogan Boeselboese@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberBritta Johnsonbjohns15@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberSam Panzerspanzer@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberBobby Rasmussenrrasmuss@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberSarah Swansonsswanso5@gustavus.edu

E-mail organization