Faculty Emergency Planning Committee (EPC)

2021-22 Academic Year


In May of 2020, the Faculty endorsed the following motion, which authorized the EPC to carry out its work. In September of 2020, the Faculty Senate renewed this authorization through the spring semester of 2021.

"If normal operations of the College are disrupted significantly due to Minnesota Department of Health, Centers for Disease Control, and/or State recommendations regarding COVID-19, the Facutly Emergency Planning Committee that will represent the faculty to act on any significant changes to the academic program in a timely manner. This committee shall seek comments and suggestions from the Faculty to the extent feasible during the emergency before taking actions regarding the academic program, and it will collaborate with appropriate emergency planning groups from other divisions of the college (e.g. Registrar, Gustavus Technology Services, etc.). A policy change made by this committee shall persist for at most one semester unless the Faculty vote to make the policy permanent through regular Faculty meeting procedures. Authority given to this committee is initially granted for no more than one semester but may be renewed if the emergency persists. The Faculty will be informed of any changes made to the academic program by this committee."

Agendas and minutes from meetings of the EPC are linked below. The committee membership welcomes comments, input, and feedback about the EPC's work from all faculty by email to the committee (g-epc-feedback@gustavus.edu).

EPC Membership


Faculty Senate Chair: Ruth Lin, Chair
Academic Operations Committee Chair or designee: Dave Stamps
Department Chairs and Program Directors Committee Chair: Glenn Kranking
Diversity Equity and Inclusion Committee Chair: So Young Park
At Large: Karl Larson
Non-voting ex officio: Provost or designee: Provost Brenda Kelly

Meeting Materials

EPC meeting minutes and agendas