Student Orgs

Student Athletic Advisory Committee

Student Organization Name
Student Athletic Advisory Committee
Type
Governing Bodies
Statement Of Purpose/ Mission
Our Mission …. The Gustavus Adolphus College Student Athlete Advisory Committee is a means of communication between student athletes and the athletic department staff. We work to increase campus awareness of and participation in intercollegiate athletics, and develop relationships and support systems between athletes from different Gustavus varsity teams. We sponsor and organize community service activities. We increase community awareness and support of intercollegiate athletics in the Gustavus and St. Peter communities. We also seek to increase awareness and support from Gustavus Adolphus College athletic alumni. The Student Athlete Advisory Committee is a means of soliciting student-athlete response to Gustavus, MIAC, and NCAA proposed legislation, and we are a means of suggesting legislation to such governing bodies. The Gustavus Adolphus College Student Athlete Advisory Committee provides opportunities to increase athletes’ growth and improve athletes’ overall college experience.
Constitution
Gustavus Adolphus College Student Athlete Advisory Committee Constitution Article I Name The name of this group shall be the Gustavus Adolphus College Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). Article II Purpose The Gustavus Adolphus College Student Athlete Advisory Committee shall be a means of communication between student athletes and the athletic department staff. It will work to increase campus awareness of and participation in supporting intercollegiate athletics, and develop relationships and support systems between athletes from different Gustavus varsity teams. The Gustavus Adolphus College Student Athlete Advisory Committee will sponsor and organize community service activities. The Gustavus Adolphus College Student Athlete Advisory Committee shall increase community awareness and support of intercollegiate athletics in the Gustavus and St. Peter communities. The committee will also seek to increase awareness and support from Gustavus Adolphus College athletic alumni. The Student Athlete Advisory Committee will be a means of soliciting student-athlete response to Gustavus, MIAC, and NCAA proposed legislation, and be a means of suggesting legislation to such governing bodies. The Gustavus Adolphus College Student Athlete Advisory Committee shall provide opportunities to increase athletes’ growth and improve athletes’ overall college experience. Article III Membership The membership shall be composed of two officially selected representatives from each of the twenty-three (23) varsity intercollegiate teams at Gustavus Adolphus College. Each member will serve as a liaison between the Committee and their individual team. Each member can represent only one varsity sport. Section 1 Qualifications Minimum requirements for Gustavus SAAC membership are: 1). Current membership of a recognized varsity intercollegiate sport. 2). Full-time student status, or a student finishing degree requirements. 3). A 2nd semester freshman residency status. 4). Support and consistency with SAAC purposes. Article IV Meetings Meetings will be held a minimum of once a month during the academic year. Dates, times, and location of said meetings will be determined by the SAAC membership. Additional meetings and or emergency sessions shall be called as deemed necessary by the executive committee. Section 1 Attendance Policy Each team must have one person at each meeting. If the representatives do not appear at meetings they are encouraged to appoint two new representatives for the remainder of the academic year. Article V Executive Committee The Executive Committee of the organization shall split the duties of President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer. Only official SAAC representatives are eligible for Executive Committee appointment. Additionally, only one sport team may be represented on the Executive Committee at any one time. Section 1 Duties Executive Board a). Presides over meetings. b). Functions as spokesperson for SAAC. c). Has the authority to appoint committee members if necessary. d). Performs all duties as are incidental to the office and which are required of the office by the organization. Section 2 Election to Office Voting for Executive Committee officers will take place annually at the last regularly scheduled April SAAC meeting. Executive Committee members will be elected by the general SAAC membership. Each general member will receive one vote. In case of a tie among more than two people the winner will be chosen by drawing lots. In case of a tie between two people, a best (2) out of three (3) rock-paper-scissors thrown between the two individuals will determine the winner. Section 3 Terms of Office The term of appointment for each Executive Committee position shall be one (1) year (Spring – Spring). Executive Committee members may run for re-election as long as they fulfill the general SAAC membership requirements. Section 4 Removal from Office The Gustavus Adolphus College Student Athlete Advisory Committee, by a two-thirds (2/3) vote of all the official team representatives, may remove on good cause a student-athlete from his/her Executive Committee office. A request for removal from office will be brought to the SAAB adviser who will then bring the request before the general membership. Article VI Standing Committees The Executive Committee will determine standing committees on an as needed basis. Article VII Voting 1). Only official team representatives can vote at SAAC meetings. 2). Each varsity sport team is allotted only one vote unless expressly said otherwise in this Constitution. 3). An official sport team representative must be present at the SAAC meeting in order to vote on an impending issue. 4). The SAAC President has the express power and authority to grant attendance rule exceptions to those representatives whose absence is the result of an official varsity sport activity. 5). Quorum shall be fifty percent (50%) plus one (1) of the SAAC representative membership or teams as required by the voting system. 6). Motions will be passed with a simple majority vote except for amendments to the constitution. Article VIII Amendments Amendments to this Constitution or changes to said Constitution require a two-thirds (2/3) vote of all Gustavus Adolphus College varsity represented teams as per Article VII.
Affiliations
MIAC, NCAA
Application Type
apply
Members
RoleOrganization TitleFull NameE-mail
AdvisorAdvisorKari Eckheartkeckhear@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberDavid Tranvikdtranvik@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberJoseph Renierjrenier@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberZach Vinezvine@gustavus.edu
Vice PresidentMemberBeau Bachmanbbachman@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberBlake Schammelbschamme@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberTony Squillaceasquilla@gustavus.edu
TreasurerMemberBrett Ylonenbylonen@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberElliot Hoekstraehoekstr@gustavus.edu
MemberMemberBryan Milesbmiles@gustavus.edu
SecretaryMemberPat Tracyptracy2@gustavus.edu
MembermemberJulia Dysthejdysthe@gustavus.edu
MembermemberOlivia Craneocrane@gustavus.edu
MembermemberKayte Colekcole@gustavus.edu
MembermemberSam Falksfalk@gustavus.edu
MembermemberJamie Riesjries@gustavus.edu
Risk ManagermemberKelly Thotlandkthotlan@gustavus.edu
PresidentmemberCarly Klasscklass@gustavus.edu
MembermemberRebecca Stewartrstewart@gustavus.edu
MembermemberAnnie Mahoneylmahone2@gustavus.edu
MembermemberBailey Abeyesekerababeyese@gustavus.edu
MembermemberAnna McDevittamcdevit@gustavus.edu
MembermemberMolly Ashwillmashwill@gustavus.edu
MembermemberKaylee Maxonkmaxon@gustavus.edu

E-mail organization