Alumni Association Board of Directors

The Board of Directors establishes policy and reviews and critiques programs and activities conducted by the Alumni and Parent Engagement team that support the mission of the association and the College. The Board determines Association awards, selects new board members, and considers any other matters which need formal approval.

Board Selection

New board members shall be elected by a majority vote of existing Board members. All efforts will be made to have the Alumni Board be representative of the Alumni Association in class year, vocation, gender, and residence.

Board Expectations

Board members serve a three-year term with the option of serving a second term. Members are expected to:

  • Talk about Gustavus at every available opportunity.
  • Encourage high school students to look at Gustavus.
  • Talk with other alumni about past, present, and future positive Gustavus experiences and ways they can be involved.
  • Be enthusiastic supporters of Gustavus.
  • Set an example to consistently support the College financially and with service, especially during the board term.
Current Board Members
Class Year First Name Maiden Last Name City State
1975 Catherine Asta Edina MN
2013 Lydia Benge Briggs Minneapolis MN
2000 Jean-Paul Bigirindavyi Saint Louis Park MN
1969 Mike Bussey Woodbury MN
1981 Edward Drenttel Inver Grove MN
1989 Mike "Duebs" Dueber Saint Paul MN
2010 Sara Schnell Elenkiwich Orono MN
1997 Theresa Gienapp Saint Paul MN
1994 Derek Hansen Minnetonka MN
1985 Cathy Villars Harms Apple Valley MN
1990 Brenda Kardock Rochester MN
1976 Stephanie Kendall Minneapolis MN
1992 Peter Kitundu Des Moines IA
1984 Damon Larson Denver CO
1969 Jane Norman Leitzman Saint Joseph MN
1976 Ginny Kirkegaard Leppart Eden Prairie MN
1984 Gordon Mansergh Decatur GA
1999 Kari Petrasek Merz Lynnwood WA
1990 Dan Michel Chicago IL
2004 Dan Myers Cottage Grove MN
1981 Leslie Nielsen Hastings MN
2009 Marisa Schloer Prachar Savage MN
1988 Chris Rasmussen Berwyn Heights MD
1964 Sharon Peterson Robinson Kasota MN
2002 Vidya Sivan Boston MA
1986 Kristin Johns Young The Woodlands TX

Ex Officio to the Board of Trustees/Past President: Chris Rasmussen '88

Emeritus Members: Moose Malmquist ’53, Kay Rethwill Moline '56

E-mail the Alumni Board.