Student Orgs

Wednesday Friends

Student Organization Name
Wednesday Friends
Type
Academic / Honorary
Statement Of Purpose/ Mission
Wednesday Friends strives to foster meaningful relationships with adults who have special psychiatric needs to promote the continued development of fundamental social skills through creative and intentional programming.
Constitution
ARTICLE I: NAME The name of this organization shall be Wednesday Friends ARTICLE II: PURPOSE The purpose of Wednesday friends shall be to foster meaningful relationships with adults who have special psychiatric needs to promote the continued development of fundamental social skills through creative and intentional programming. ARTICLE III: MEMBERSHIP Section 1: Membership is open to all Gustavus students who have the desire to provide relationships with adults with psychiatric illnesses and promote the development of social skills. ARTICLE IV: OFFICERS Section 1: The following positions shall exist in Wednesday Friends: Co-Coordinators. All officers must be full-time students in good academic standing at Gustavus Adolphus College Section 2: The duties of each office are described as follows: Co-coordinator 1. Attend and engage in weekly meetings with co-coordinator and advisor 2. Facilitate volunteer training and orientation 3. Plan and execute mandatory events and programming 4. Work with the advisor to create yearly goals for the organization. 5. To maintain a record of applications and paperwork. 6. Communicate with community partners to foster relationships 7. Work towards achieving the benchmarks of service outlined by the CSL. 8. Provide volunteers to achieve learning outcomes identified by the CSL. 9. In conjunction with the community advisor, evaluate the accomplishments and opportunities for change of coordinators, volunteers, and the program as a whole. 10. Supervise volunteers and participants in a way that ensures a safe, healthy, positive, and consistent environment. 11. Maintain social responsibility by managing and leading as a positive representation of the St. Peter community, Gustavus Adolphus College, and the Center for Servant-Leadership. Section 3: Coordinators are chosen for the position of program coordinator at the beginning of a the Spring semester if 1 or more of the current coordinators are graduating at the end of the semester. They must submit a written application to show their commitment to the organization and explain what they hope to accomplish if they became a coordinator. Interviews for the available position(s) will be conducted by the current program coordinator and if need be the program advisor as well. Section 4: The position of coordinator will begin after the commencement of the former coordinator(s). The spring semester will serve as a transition period between coordinators that are leaving and the one(s) that will be leading the program the following year. ARTICLE V: MEETINGS Section 1: Meetings will be held semesterly. ARTICLE VI: EXECUTIVE BOARD No executive board currently exists for Wednesday Friends. ARTICLE VII: COMMITTEES Not Applicable ARTICLE VIII: FINANCES Section 1: Funds for the organization are given to us thru the Center for Servant-Leadership, which in turn receives these funds from the Gustavus Student Senate. Section 2: Any use of the funds must be recorded and receipts or the like must be given to the Center for Servant-Leadership office for proof of purchase and if need be to reimburse the person that purchased the goods. Section 3: The use of the funds provided to the program are reserved for the use of supplies for program activities. ARTICLE IX: BY-LAWS Not Applicable ARTICLE X: AMENDMENTS All members of Wednesday Friends that are in good standing may propose amendments. The proposed amendments will be reviewed by the current coordinators and the advisor of the program. If amendments are passed, they take effect at the end of the meeting during which they are passed.
Affiliations
St. Peter Regional Treatment Center Power Up Clubhouse
Application Type
apply
Website
https://gustavus.edu/communityservice/wednesdayfriends.php
Members
RoleOrganization TitleFull NameE-mail
AdvisorDavid Newelldnewell@gustavus.edu
PresidentAllie Rennekearenneke@gustavus.edu
SecretaryKelsey Berrymankberryma@gustavus.edu
PresidentKayla Pavelkakpavelka@gustavus.edu
Risk ManagerMeishon Behboudimbehboud@gustavus.edu
MemberMandy Schlauderaffmschlaud@gustavus.edu
MemberCourtney Castleberryccastleb@gustavus.edu
TreasurerAngela Gewerthagewert2@gustavus.edu
MemberDan O'Keefedokeefe@gustavus.edu
MemberGrace Bouleygbouley@gustavus.edu
MemberRachel Schuthrschuth2@gustavus.edu
MemberEmily Atkinseatkins@gustavus.edu
MemberOlivia Johnsonojohnson@gustavus.edu
MemberNatalie Sievensieve@gustavus.edu
MemberJennifer Wedinjwedin@gustavus.edu
MemberEmma Websterewebster@gustavus.edu

E-mail organization