Student Orgs

Gustavus Dance Team

Student Organization Name
Gustavus Dance Team
Type
Sports and Recreation
Statement Of Purpose/ Mission
The purpose of the Gustavus Dance Team is to promote school spirit by performing dances ranging from hip hop to jazz at half time entertainment during Gustavus football and basketball games. The team also represents their school by performing at local competitions. Our mission as a team is to provide dancers with a positive experience so they can further their dance goals in college. Our team members are highly motivated individuals that work hard for their academics, dance technique, time management, and forming great friendships.
Constitution
ARTICLE I: NAME The name of this organization shall be The Gustavus Dance Team. ARTICLE II: PURPOSE The purpose of the Gustavus Dance Team is to promote school spirit by performing dances ranging from hip-hop to jazz at half time entertainment during Gustavus football and basketball games. The team also represents their school by performing at local competitions. Our mission as a team is to provide dancers with a positive experience so they can further their dance goals in college. Our team members are highly motivated individuals that work hard for their academics, dance technique, time management, and forming great friendships. ARTICLE III: MEMBERSHIP Section 1: Any member of the Gustavus Adolphus College community may tryout for the Gustavus Dance Team. This group is intended for women who have a background in high school dance team, studio dance, and competitive dance for more then 5 years. Section 2: The following categories of membership exist in the Gus Fan Club: Performance Team Dancer Competition Team Dancer Captains Section 3: Members of the dance team must tell the coach within the first two weeks of practice when they know they will miss practice during the season. Section 4: Members who miss more then 2 unexcused practices will not be allowed to perform at the performance for that week. Section 5: All members must abide by the Gustavus Adolphus College campus regulations ARTICLE IV: OFFICERS Section 1: The following positions are available: Captains and Coach Section 2: The duties of each office are described as follows: A. Captains 1. The captains will organize all events and fundraisers, choreograph dances, plan formations, contact team when needed, cut music, take care of costumes, and keep in close contact with our advisor. 2. All captains need to be enrolled at Gustavus Adolphus College. Nominations and elections will be held at the beginning of each season in the fall. 3. Captains can only hold their position for two years or one if they graduate. B. Coach 1. The Coach will be responsible for the financial management, such as financial proposals. Also, the coach will be responsible for collecting player fees if they are found to be necessary, fundraiser money, and sponsorship/donated money. 2. The coach will set up competitions and dance performances on and off campus. 3. The coach will reserve the aerobics room, gym, and basketball court for practices. Section 3: Captains will be voted on by the team members in the Fall of the beginning season by all members of the team. They will be required to give a speech as to why they want to be captains before the voting. There can be only two captains. Section 4: The term of office begins at the beginning of September and will last till the new captains are voted on or if they graduate and will not be returning to campus the next year. ARTICLE V: MEETINGS Section 1: Practices will be held in the Lund Center in the Aerobics room. They will be held three to four times a week depending on the availability of the teams schedule and the aerobics room. Section 2: Home football games will be held at the football field and the home basketball games will be held at the basketball court in Lund. The Captains will work together to schedule practices and when the team will meet before home game performances. Other team meetings may be held to go over fundraising or schedules. Section 3: Other team practices may be held for fundraising events or upcoming dance events that require more practices or different times. ARTICLE VI: FINANCES Section 1: Funds are allocated by the Gustavus Student Senate, received through off-campus grants, or through donations. Section 2: Player fees may also be required to cover all necessary costs. The coach will manage funds. ARTICLE VII: JOINING Section 1: Students who wish to become a member of the Gustavus Performance Dance Team or Gustavus Competition Dance team must attend a tryout during spring semester for returning students or current students and in the fall for incoming freshmen or students who missed the spring tryout Section 2: Students will then be informed of their placement the week of the audition. Section 3: Auditions are held in the Aerobics Studio in the Lund Center, lead by the coach and previous years captains. ARTICLE VIII: LOSS OF RECOGNITION Section 1: Members of the Gustavus Dance Team may lose their status for any of the following reasons: 1. The team member misses more then 10 practice during the entire season. 2. The Company member is found to be in violation of one or more of the policies outlined in the Student Code of Conduct found in the Gustavus Adolphus College, Gustie Guide. Date of Ratification: 11/26/12
Affiliations
Local-Gustavus Adolphus College
Application Type
tryOut
Website
https://sites.google.com/site/gustavusdanceteam/
Members
RoleOrganization TitleFull NameE-mail
AdvisorAssistant Athletics DirectorJared Phillipsjphilli2@gustavus.edu
PresidentCaptainKrista Rippertonkrippert@gustavus.edu
MemberAbi Tobiasonatobiaso@gustavus.edu
MemberAllie Rennekearenneke@gustavus.edu
Vice PresidentCaptainAmani Yassinayassin@gustavus.edu
MemberAngie Colongaacolonga@gustavus.edu
TreasurerEmma Websterewebster@gustavus.edu
MemberHailee Griffinhgriffin@gustavus.edu
Risk ManagerKayla Warnerkwarner@gustavus.edu
SecretaryLindsay Ortliplortlip@gustavus.edu
MemberMegan Spearmspear@gustavus.edu
MemberMaggie Arndtearndt@gustavus.edu
MemberRachael Urbaniakrurbania@gustavus.edu
TreasurerSamantha Bankssbanks@gustavus.edu
MemberSara Kullbergskullber@gustavus.edu
MemberStephanie Thompson
MemberSarah Vanyosvanyo@gustavus.edu
MemberAndy Lupinekalupinek@gustavus.edu
MemberJenna Rippertonjrippert@gustavus.edu
MemberAlli Conradaconrad2@gustavus.edu
MemberDanielle Kirchnerdkirchne@gustavus.edu
MemberMaddie Rennekemrenneke@gustavus.edu
MemberEmily Carlsonecarlso9@gustavus.edu
MemberEmily Palmquistepalmqui@gustavus.edu
MemberHannah Childshchilds@gustavus.edu

E-mail organization