Presidents' Awards for Civic Engagement

Each year, all members of the Gustavus Community are invited to submit nominations for the annual Presidents’ Awards for Civic Engagement. The President’s Awards provide an opportunity for presidents who are members of Minnesota Campus Compact to give statewide recognition to effective leaders in the development of campus-community partnerships. Each president from a Minnesota Campus Compact member institution may recognize one honoree in each of three categories listed below.

The nomination process has closed. Thank you.

Category 1: Student Leadership Award

This award is for an individual student or a student organization that models a deep commitment to civic responsibility and leadership, evidenced by initiative, innovative and collaborative approaches to addressing public issues, effective community building, and integration of civic engagement into the college experience.

Previous Award Winners

  • 2020 - Monali Bhakta
  • 2019 - Brian Mayen
  • 2018 - Big Partner/Little Partner
  • 2017 - Bjorn Kjelstad
  • 2016 - Hayley Nemmers & Abby Nistler
  • 2015 - Nicole Eknitphong
  • 2014 - Anna McDevitt
  • 2013 - Katelyn Warburton
  • 2012 - Ben Batz
  • 2011 - Service Leadership Cohort

Category 2: Civic Engagement Steward Award

This award is for a member of the faculty, administration, or staff or for a group (e.g., advisory committee, task force, project team) that has significantly advanced their campus’ distinctive civic mission by forming strong partnerships, supporting others’ civic engagement, and working to institutionalize a culture and practice of engagement.

Previous Award Winners

  • 2020 - Dr. Pamela Conners, Communication Studies
  • 2019 - Dr. Martin Lang, Communication Studies
  • 2018 - Dr. Leila Brammer, Communication Studies
  • 2017 - Dr. Rebecca Fremo, English
  • 2016 - Dr. Angelique Dwyer, Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
  • 2015 - Dr. Sarah Wolter, Communication Studies
  • 2014 - Lynnea Myers, Nursing
  • 2013 - Dr. Elizabeth Baer, English
  • 2012 - Dr. Marie Walker, Psychological Science
  • 2011 - Dr. Kyle E. Chambers, Psychological Science

Category 3: Community Partner Award

This award is for a community-based organization that has enhanced the quality of life in the community in meaningful and measurable ways and has engaged in the development of sustained, reciprocal partnerships with the college, thus enriching educational as well as community outcomes.

Previous Award Winners

  • 2018 - Horn of Africa Aid and Rehabilitation Action Network
  • 2017 - Center for Rural Policy Development
  • 2016 - Jane Timmerman '75, City of Saint Peter
  • 2015 - Dr. Paul Peterson on behalf of Saint Peter Public Schools
  • 2014 - Peter Olson on behalf of Children’s Museum of Southern Minnesota
  • 2013 - Mayo Health System
  • 2012 - Ben Leonard, Nicollet County Historical Society
  • 2011 - Partnership Council

Selective: Alumni Award

  • 2020 - Representative Samantha Vang '16

Nominations are due February 12, 2020 by 5:00 p.m. Please complete this form.

Honorees and presidents will celebrate the nature and results of this exemplary work at a special awards ceremony and luncheon during Minnesota Campus Compact’s Annual Summit and Awards Ceremony to be held April 17, 2020 at St. Mary's University in Minneapolis. Award winners will receive a certificate and recognition in the event program, and the brief profile provided will be posted on MNCC’s website. Recipients are also invited participate throughout the Summit and to consider presenting a brief “This I Believe” statement.

Please contact Amy in the Community Engagement Center if you have specific questions.

Thank you for your interest and support in the Minnesota Campus Compact President’s Awards for Civic Engagement.