Chapter Information

The President and Vice President are elected annually. The Secretary-Treasurer is elected for a three-year term.

Resident Members Eta of Minnesota Chapter
Name Electing Chapter Year
Joshua Brown Carleton College 1998
Marcia J. Bunge St. Olaf College 1976
Ella Burnham St. Catherine University 2016
Laura Burrack Macalester College 2001
Betsy Byers St. Olaf College 2002
Eric Carlson University of California, Los Angeles 1976
Denis Crnkovic Franklin and Marshall College 1974
Whitney Dirks Beloit College 2005
Jillian (Lyon) Downey Gustavus Adolphus College 2008
Thomas Emmert St. Olaf College 1967
Barbara Fister University of Kentucky 1976
Janie Frandsen Denison University 2014
William K. Freiert Gustavus Adolphus College, Honorary 2011
Robert Gardner Oberlin College 1966
Julie Gilbert Gustavus Adolphus College 1999
Yurie Hong University of California, Los Angeles 1999
Douglas L. Huff Gustavus Adolphus College, Honorary 2014
Anna J. Hulseberg Northwestern University 1992
Michael Hvidsten St. Olaf College 1981
Robert Irvin University of California, Riverside 1972
Emma Jasnoch Gustavus Adolphus College 2015
Elizabeth Jenner University of California, Berkeley 1995
Darrell Jodock St. Olaf College 1962
Julia Mulligan Beloit College 2011
Byron Nordstrom Lawrence College 1965
Garrett Paul Wabash College 1971
Jessie Petricka Carleton College 2001
Ranae Peterson University of South Dakota 1956
Don Scheese Temple University 1976
Barbara Simpson Washington State University 1964
Kate (Riggs) Sonsteby Gustavus Adolphus College 2005
Michelle (Anderson) Twait Gustavus Adolphus College 1998
Mary Westby University of North Carolina 2004
Sarah Wolter Gustavus Adolphus College 2002
Linnea Wren Radcliffe College 1970


  • Visiting Scholars
    • 2015
      • Dr. Phillip J. Deloria, Carroll Smith-Rosenberg Collegiate Professor, with a joint appointment in the departments of History and American Culture at the University of Michigan, on "American Indians in the American Popular Imagination." Thursday April 23, 2015. The Eta Chapter of Minnesota of Phi Beta Kappa was honored to have Dr. Phillip Deloria on campus April 23rd and 24th, 2015. Philip Deloria is the Carroll Smith-Rosenberg Collegiate Professor, with a joint appointment in the departments of History and American Culture. He is currently the Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education in the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, where he administers student academic support, learning communities, public goods, and a range of innovations programming, from faculty pedagogy workshops to massive open online courses. He has served as president of the American Studies Association, as a council member of the Organization of American Historians, and asba trustee of the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian, and is an elected member of the Society of American Historians and the American Antiquarian Society. He is the author of two prize-winning books, Playing Indian and Indians in Unexpected Places, and coeditor of The Blackwell Companion to American Indian History and C.G. Jung and the Sioux Traditions: Dreams, Visions, Nature, and the Primitive by Vine Deloria Jr. He has also written numerous articles, essays, and reviews in the fields of American Indian studies, environmental history, and cultural studies.
    • 2012
      • Dr. William Schweiker, Edward L. Ryerson Distinguished Service Professor of Theological Ethics at the University of Chicago, on “Ethics in a Time of Many Moralities.” Thursday, March 8, 2012, 7:00 pm, Wallenberg Auditorium.
  • Chapter Meetings
    • Meetings are monthly or bimonthly based on business to discuss. Members are notified of meetings via the Phi Beta Kappa email list. Please contact Elizabeth Jenner ( if you are not receiving emails.
  • Spring Initiation
    •  2021 - 29 students elected to membership
    • 2020 - 33 students elected to membership (inducted in 2021 due to pandemic disruptions)
    •  2019 -32 students elected to membership
    •  2015 -35 students elected to membership
    • 2014 - Dr. Douglas L. Huff elected to honorary membership
    • 2011 - Dr. William K. Freiert elected to honorary membership
  • Speakers
  • Book Award to Outstanding Seniors at St. Peter High School
    • 2019 Book Award Recipients
      • Noah Gassman , Isabel Panciera, Kayley Ronnkvist
    • 2018 Book Award Recipients
      • Josie Carlson, Eleanor Grinnell, Nora Leonard, Antonia Weiss
    • 2014 Book Award Recipients

      Carolyn Conlon, Maggie Dimock, Caleb Ebeling, Alys Ferragamo, Natalie Weelborg

    • 2013 Book Award Recipients

      Arik Lokensgard, Kierstin Karlsrud, Wes Gillette

    • 2012 Book Award Recipients

      Andrea Garcia, Maddi Baskfield, Ashley Welp, Rachel Hoehn

    • 2011 Book Award Recipients

      Toni Langr, Maggie Morrow, Elizabeth Springer

    • 2010 Book Award Recipients

      Aaron Smith, Mindy Malecek, Susanna Holstrom

    • 2009 Book Award Recipients

      Christian Behrends, Hannah Karlsrud, Robb Hawkinson, Emily Paul

    • 2008 Book Award Recipients

      Eydie Kramer, Timothy Niederriter, Anna Zelenz

    • 2007 Book Award Recipients

      Benjamin Bryant, Cassie Cummiskey, Sarah Walker

    • 2006 Book Award Recipients

      Amanda Davis, Sarah Hvidsten, Robert Niederriter