Department Honors

National Council for Geographic Education Excellence of Scholarship

The NCGE/AAG Excellence of Scholarship Award recognizes graduating seniors majoring in geography for outstanding academic achievement. Award winners are chosen by individual geography departments on the merits of academic performance, Gamma Theta Upsilon membership, departmental service, dedication, and enthusiasm.

2014-15 Brianna Furey

2013-14 Meg Wika


Geography Department Academic Assistants

Spring 2015 Will Metcalf

Fall 2014 Katie Feterl

Spring 2014 Brianna Furey

Fall 2013 Meg Wika

Spring 2013 Miranda Quirk Becker

Fall 2012 Jory Birkeland


Aaron Insley Prize for Excellence in Geographic Information Systems and Cartography

The Insley prize honors Aaron Insley, a Gustavus alumnus and geography major. Aaron excelled at GIS and cartography from the start, creating an animated digital map depicting the diffusion of punk rock music for his first geography course, GEG-101. He loved the mountains and landscapes of the West and Dr. Bob Moline's "American West" course was one of his favorites. Aaron planned to continue his geography studies in graduate school but suffered a head injury in a car accident in 2007. The Insley prize was established with a generous gift from Tom and Carol Insley and friends of their son Aaron.

2014 William Metcalf

2013 Matt Bye, Parishes Without Borders: Congregational Geography in Minneapolis and St. Paul

2012 Teige Cudahy, Geographic Analysis of Public Library Size in Relation to Population (with Ashley Hansen)

2011 Eric Fitzsimmons, Three-dimensional map of business locations in the Minneapolis-Saint Paul metropolitan area 2010 Andrew Byron, Smart phone mapping and geographic information system application for Yellowstone National Park