Sigma Tau Delta

Sigma Tau Delta seal

Sigma Tau Delta is the international honor society for students of English. Gustavus Adolphus College was given a charter for the Pi Rho chapter of Sigma Tau Delta in 1982.

Eligibility for Membership

  • Declare an English major or minor
  • Achieve a minimum cumulative grade of B (3.0 on a 4.0 scale)
  • Top third of your Gustavus class in GPA
  • Complete at least three courses toward your English major or minor

Advantages of Membership

Membership is an outward recognition of personal accomplishment. It also serves as an incentive for continued high scholarship. It provides opportunities for those interested in English language and literature to join with like-minded persons on the local, regional, national, and international levels.

Members receive a one year subscription to the Newsletter which is published twice yearly. They also receive and have the opportunity to contribute to the award-winning literary publication, The Rectangle, and are eligible to compete for a number of prizes for excellent writing. For more information, visit the Sigma Tau Delta official website.

Events

No upcoming events were found. Please check back soon or visit the College Calendar for general campus events.

Past events
Date Event
Dec 12, 2013 5:307 pm English Dept. Christmas Partyhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/english-dept-christmas-party/40245Confer 230 - Humanities Resource Center
Oct 8, 2013 4:305:30 pm Graduate School Panelhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/graduate-school-panel/39724Confer 230 - Humanities Resource Center
May 17, 2013 67 pm English Department End-of-the-Year Ice Cream Socialhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/english-department-end-of-the-year-ice-cream-social/38544Courtyard Café
Dec 13, 2012 68 pm English Christmas Partyhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/english-christmas-party/36800Confer 230 - Humanities Resource Center
Nov 15, 2012 79 pm English Game Nighthttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/english-game-night/36578Confer 230 - Humanities Resource Center
34 pm Academic Writing Opportunities on Campus for English Majorshttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/academic-writing-opportunities-on-campus-for-english-majors/36614Confer 230 (Humanities Resource Center)
Oct 9, 2012 4:306 pm Grad School Talkhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/grad-school-talk/36182Confer 230 - Humanities Resource Center