Department Chairs List

Department Chairs and Program Directors 2022-23

A pdf version of the Department Chairs and Program Directors List is also available. You may contact department chairs and program directors at dept-chairs@gustavus.edu.

Department Chair Phone Email
Art and Art History Betsy Byers 7377 bbyers@gustavus.edu
Biology Yuta Kawarasaki 6348 ykawaras@gustavus.edu 
Business and Economics Jeff Owen 7420 jowen@gustavus.edu
Chemistry Amanda Nienow, Co-Chair 7327 anienow@gustavus.edu
Chemistry Dwight Stoll, Co-Chair 6304 dstoll@gustavus.edu
Communication Studies Pamela Conners, Co-Chair 6170 pconners@gustavus.edu
Communication Studies Phillip Voight, Co-Chair 7369 pvoight@gustavus.edu
Education Amy Vizenor 7455 avizenor@gustavus.edu
English Becky Fremo, Co-Chair 7392 rtfremo@gustavus.edu 
English Rob Kendrick, Co-Chair 6090 rkendric@gustavus.edu
Environment, Geography, and Earth Sciences Julie Bartley, Co-Chair 7307 jbartley@gustavus.edu 
Environment, Geography, and Earth Sciences Joaquin Villanueva, Co-Chair 6283 jvillanu@gustavus.edu 
Greek, Latin, and Classical Studies Seán Easton 7396 seaston@gustavus.edu
Health and Exercise Science Hayley Russell 6062 hrussell@gustavus.edu 
History Maddalena Marinari 6152 mmarinar@gustavus.edu
Library Michelle Twait 7563 mtwait@gustavus.edu
Mathematics, Computer Science, and Statistics Thomas LoFaro 7463 tlofaro@gustavus.edu
Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures Ana Adams 6079 aadams3@gustavus.edu 
Music Justin Knoepfel 7360 jknoepfe@gustavus.edu
Nursing Heidi Meyer 6094 hmeyer2@gustavus.edu
Philosophy Josh Brown 7485 jbrown8@gustavus.edu
Physics Kyle Chambers 7541 kchamber@gustavus.edu 
Political Science Kate Knutson 6224 knutson@gustavus.edu
Psychological Science Marie Walker 7412 mwalker@gustavus.edu
Religion Thia Cooper 6296 tcooper@gustavus.edu
Scandinavian Studies Glenn Kranking 7435 kranking@gustavus.edu 
Sociology and Anthropology Dave Stamps 7439 dstamps@gustavus.edu
Theatre and Dance Henry MacCarthy, Co-Chair 7352 hmaccart@gustavus.edu 
Theatre and Dance Melissa Rolnick, Co-Chair 7642 mrolnick@gustavus.edu

Interdisciplinary Program Director Phone Email
African/African Diaspora Studies  Kate Keller  7432  kkeller2@gustavus.edu 
Arts Entrepreneurship  Dave Stamps  7439  dstamps@gustavus.edu 
Athletic Training  Mary Westby  6462  mjoos@gustavus.edu 
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology  Jeffrey Dahlseid  6129  dahlseid@gustavus.edu 
Comparative Literature  Ursula Lindqvist  7422  ulindqvi@gustavus.edu 
Film and Media Studies  Sean Cobb  6085  scobb@gustavus.edu 
Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies  Jill Locke  6226  jlocke@gustavus.edu 
Japanese Studies  Toshiyuki Sakuragi  7384  sakuragi@gustavus.edu 
Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies  Angelique Dwyer  7419  adwyer@gustavus.edu 
Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies  Mimi Gerstbauer, Co-Director  7421  mgerstba@gustavus.edu 
Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies  Joaquin Villanueva, Co-Director  6283  jvillanu@gustavus.edu 
Public Health Karl Larson, Co-Director 7591 klarson3@gustavus.edu
Public Health  Sarah Ruble, Co-Director  7541  sruble@gustavus.edu 
Russian and Eastern European Studies  Annalise Rivas  7389  annaliserivas@gustavus.edu 
Sport Management  Hayley Russell  6062  hrussell@gustavus.edu 
General Education Program Director Phone Email
Challenge Seminar Laura Burrack 7325 lburrack@gustavus.edu 
First Term Seminar Lauren Hecht 7518 lhecht@gustavus.edu
Three Crowns Curriculum Yurie Hong 7160 yhong@gustavus.edu 
Writing Across the Curriculum Nissa Parmar 6080 nparmar@gustavus.edu