Department Chairs List

Department Chairs and Program Directors 2022-23

A pdf version of the Department Chairs and Program Directors List is also available. You may contact department chairs and program directors at dept-chairs@gustavus.edu.

Department Chair Phone Email
Art and Art History Betsy Byers 7377 bbyers@gustavus.edu
Biology Yuta Kawarasaki, Co-Chair 6348 ykawaras@gustavus.edu 
Biology Pamela Kittelson, Co-Chair 7331 kittels@gustavus.edu 
Chemistry Scott Bur, Co-Chair 7038 sbur@gustavus.edu
Chemistry Brandy Russell, Co-Chair 6160 brussell@gustavus.edu
Communication Studies Pamela Conners, Co-Chair 6170 pconners@gustavus.edu
Communication Studies Phillip Voight, Co-Chair 7369 pvoight@gustavus.edu
Economics and Management Jeff Owen 7420 jowen@gustavus.edu 
Education Amy Vizenor 7455 avizenor@gustavus.edu
English Becky Fremo, Co-Chair 7392 rtfremo@gustavus.edu 
English Rob Kendrick, Co-Chair 6090 rkendric@gustavus.edu
Environment, Geography, and Earth Sciences Julie Bartley, Co-Chair 7307 jbartley@gustavus.edu 
Environment, Geography, and Earth Sciences Joaquin Villanueva, Co-Chair 6283 jvillanu@gustavus.edu 
Greek, Latin, and Classical Studies Seán Easton 7396 seaston@gustavus.edu
Health and Exercise Science Stephanie Otto 6464 sotto@gustavus.edu
History Maddalena Marinari 6152 mmarinar@gustavus.edu
Library Michelle Twait 7563 mtwait@gustavus.edu
Mathematics, Computer Science, and Statistics Thomas LoFaro 7463 tlofaro@gustavus.edu
Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures Carlos Mejia Suarez 7385 cmejia@gustavus.edu
Music Justin Knoepfel 7360 jknoepfe@gustavus.edu
Nursing Heidi Meyer 6094 hmeyer2@gustavus.edu
Philosophy Josh Brown 7485 jbrown8@gustavus.edu
Physics Paul Saulnier 6123 psaul@gustavus.edu 
Political Science Kate Knutson 6224 knutson@gustavus.edu
Psychological Science Marie Walker 7412 mwalker@gustavus.edu
Religion Thia Cooper 6296 tcooper@gustavus.edu
Scandinavian Studies Kjerstin Moody 7423 kmoody@gustavus.edu
Sociology and Anthropology Suzanne Wilson 7426 santafe@gustavus.edu 
Theatre and Dance Henry MacCarthy, Co-Chair 7352 hmaccart@gustavus.edu 
Theatre and Dance Melissa Rolnick, Co-Chair 7642 mrolnick@gustavus.edu
Interdisciplinary Program Director Phone Email
African / Africana Diaspora Studies Kate Keller (Fall 2022) 7432 kkeller2@gustavus.edu
African / Africana Diaspora Studies Mimi Gerstbauer (Spring 2023) 7241 mgerstba@gustavus.edu 
Arts Administration Dave Stamps 7439 dstamps@gustavus.edu
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Jeffrey Dahlseid 6129 dahlseid@gustavus.edu
Comparative Literature Ursula Lindqvist 7422 ulindqvi@gustavus.edu
Film and Media Studies Sean Cobb 6085 scobb@gustavus.edu
Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies Sharon Marquart 7388 smarqua2@gustavus.edu
Japanese Studies Richard Leitch 7028 rleitch@gustavus.edu 
Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies Angelique Dwyer 7419 adwyer@gustavus.edu
Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies Mimi Gerstbauer, Co-Director 7421 mgerstba@gustavus.edu
Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies Joaquin Villanueva, Co-Director 6283 jvillanu@gustavus.edu 
Public Health Appointment pending    
Russian and Eastern European Studies Annalise Rivas 7389 annaliserivas@gustavus.edu 
General Education Program Director Phone Email
Challenge Seminar Laura Burrack 7325 lburrack@gustavus.edu 
First Term Seminar Lauren Hecht 7518 lhecht@gustavus.edu
Three Crowns Curriculum Yurie Hong 7160 yhong@gustavus.edu 
Writing Across the Curriculum Nissa Parmar 6080 nparmar@gustavus.edu