Humanities Events

Next Event

Talk/Presentation by Artist and 1993 graduate of Gustavus Department of Art/Art History, John Preus

April 20

John Preus (b.1971) is a Chicago-based interdisciplinary artist. He holds an MFA from the University of Chicago (2005) and a BS in studio art from Gustavus Adolphus college (1993) John studied furniture-making in Minnesota with John Nesset. Preus founded Dilettante Studios in 2010, co-founded SHoP (2011), and Material Exchange (2005). Preus was the creative director of the Rebuild Foundation shop until 2012 and project lead for Theaster Gates' 12 Ballads for Huguenot House, at Documenta 13. Preus is currently a Jackman Goldwasser resident at Hyde Park Art Center leading up to his solo exhibition, The Beast. His work has been exhibited at EXPO Chicago, The Heilbronn Kunstverein in Germany, The Experimental Sound Studio, The Portland Museum of Contemporary Craft, The Huguenot House in Kassel, Germany during Documenta 13, The Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago, the Betty Rhymer Gallery, The Chicago Cultural Center, The Devos Art Museum, The St. Louis Art Guild, and The Smart Museum of Art. - See more at: http://www.hydeparkart.org/exhibitions/john-preus-the-beast-zoned-b-3-mixed-use#sthash.FvmMDC1s.dpuf

Upcoming events
Date Event
Apr 20 3:304:30 pm Talk/Presentation by Artist and 1993 graduate of Gustavus Department of Art/Art History, John Preushttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/talk-presentation-by-artist-and-1993-graduate-of-gustavus-department-of-art-art-history-john-preus/45092Art Department Lecture Hall
Apr 21 11 am to noon Provost's Listening Posthttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/provost-s-listening-post-4/42873Jackson Campus Center - Upper Level Tables
Apr 22 78 pm 2014-15 Out of Scandinavia Artist in Residence Lecture, Swedish Poet Aase Berghttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/2014-15-out-of-scandinavia-artist-in-residence-lecture-swedish-poet-aase-berg/45060Melva Interpretive Center, Linnaeus Arboretum
Apr 24 2:304:30 pm Faculty Meetinghttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/faculty-meeting-24/41931Alumni Hall
May 1 57 pm Celebration of Creative Inquiryhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/celebration-of-creative-inquiry-9/42959Banquet Room C - St. Peter Banquet Room
May 2 Honors Dayhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/honors-d/35254Gustavus Campus
May 5 6:307:30 pm Religion Department Senior Seminar Poster Sessionhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/religion-department-senior-seminar-poster-session/44933Three Crowns Room
May 7 78:30 pm The Bible in Politics: Moral Compass or Conversation Stopper, by Paul D. Hanson '61https://gustavus.edu/calendar/the-bible-in-politics-moral-compass-or-conversation-stopper-by-paul-d-hanson-61/45115Confer 127
May 14 910 am Provost's Listening Posthttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/provost-s-listening-post-4/42874Jackson Campus Center - Upper Level Tables
May 21 10:30 am to 12:30 pm Faculty Meetinghttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/faculty-meeting-24/41932Alumni Hall
Past events
Date Event
Yesterday 4:306 pm Matthias Wahlstrom Lecturehttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/matthias-wahlstrom-lecture/44867Beck Hall 101
Apr 15 79 pm Language: Individual Property or Collective Culture, by Per Linellhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/language-individual-property-or-collective-culture-by-per-linell/45094Confer Hall 127
Apr 14 78 pm "The Kensington Runestone—The Birth Certificate of European America?"https://gustavus.edu/calendar/the-kensington-runestone-the-birth-certificate-of-european-america/45106Melva Interpretive Center, Linnaeus Arboretum
Apr 13 35 pm Foreign Language Equivalency Exams - Spring 2015https://gustavus.edu/calendar/foreign-language-equivalency-exams-spring-2015/44306Culpeper Language Learning Center, Vickner 108
Apr 11 Minnesota Undergraduate Philosophy Conferencehttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/minnesota-undergraduate-philosophy-conference/44104Old Main
Apr 8 45:30 pm The Spring Russian Teahttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/the-spring-russian-tea/45080Phi Beta Kappa Room
35 pm Foreign Language Equivalency Exams - Spring 2015https://gustavus.edu/calendar/foreign-language-equivalency-exams-spring-2015/44305Culpeper Language Learning Center, Vickner 108
Apr 7 35 pm Foreign Language Equivalency Exams - Spring 2015https://gustavus.edu/calendar/foreign-language-equivalency-exams-spring-2015/44304Culpeper Language Learning Center, Vickner 108
Mar 25 79 pm Cuba Today and Tomorrowhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/cuba-today-and-tomorrow/44961Wallenberg Auditorium, Nobel Hall
78 pm Marlon James Readinghttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/marlon-james-reading/44966Confer 127