Events

Department of Classics

Next Event

Festival of Dionysus

May 18

Join us on Sunday, May 18th, at noon for the seventh biennial Festival of Dionysus, performed in the idyllic setting of the Linnaeus Arboretum. This theatrical festival showcases the creativity of Gustavus students, who direct, choreograph, and perform in their own interpretations of ancient drama. Original musical compositions, performances in masks, and choral dances have all been part of this extravaganza in the past. Family, friends, and the general public are welcome to join the festivities which, like the ancient festival at Athens, are enjoyed al fresco, weather permitting (rain venue: The Dive), and celebrate the advent of spring. Refreshments provided

Upcoming events
Date Event
May 18 noon to 1:30 pm Festival of Dionysushttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/festival-of-dionysus-5/41366Arboretum (Rain Venue: Dive)
Past events
Date Event
Mar 13 78 pm St. Olaf Roman Comedy comes to Gustavushttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/st-olaf-roman-comedy-comes-to-gustavus-3/41379Schaefer Fine Arts Center 214
Mar 6 St. Olaf Roman Comedy comes to Gustavushttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/st-olaf-roman-comedy-comes-to-gustavus-2/41367Schaefer Fine Arts Center 214
Oct 31, 2013 78 pm Who Did It?: A CSI Case at Pompeiihttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/who-did-it-a-csi-case-at-pompeii/39431Beck Hall 101
Oct 8, 2013 78 pm "The Canon Debate: Who put the Bible together and how?"https://gustavus.edu/calendar/the-canon-debate-who-put-the-bible-together-and-how/39355Olin Hall 103
Mar 21, 2013 68 pm Taste of Ancient Greece- Greek Symposiumhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/taste-of-ancient-greece-greek-symposium/38110The Dive
Oct 25, 2012 78 pm Talk by Dr. Tara Welch of the University of Kansashttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/talk-by-dr-tara-welch-of-the-university-of-kansas/36459Olin 103
Oct 4, 2012 78 pm St. Olaf Roman Comedy Comes to Gustavushttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/st-olaf-roman-comedy-comes-to-gustavus/35868Shaefer Fine Arts Center 214
Jul 20, 2012 5:308:30 pm Gustavus Classics Event at ASIhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/gustavus-classics-event-at-asi/35409American Swedish Institute
May 5, 2012 23:30 pm Festival of Dionysushttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/festival-of-dionysus-4/34721Linnaeus Arboretum (Rain venue: Dive)