Announcement: Opening reception for Alumni Invitational Art Exhibition, Hillstrom Museum of Art


The opening reception for Alumni Invitational Art Exhibition: Ars Longa, Academia Brevis will be held at the Hillstrom Museum of Art Monday, November 22, 7 to 9 p.m. (with brief comments presented at 8 p.m. by Randall Stuckey, Director of Alumni Relations, College President Jack Ohle, and Bruce McClain, Department of Art and Art History). This reception is free and open to the public. The Museum's regular hours are weekdays, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., and weekends, 1 to 5 p.m. Additional information can be found on the Museum's website at, including hours of closure during the College's Thanksgiving and Holiday breaks.


Alumni Invitational Art Exhibition: Ars Longa, Academia Brevis features sixty-three recent artworks by past Gustavus studio art majors ranging from the class of 2009 back to the class of 1951, the earliest year students could graduate with the major. All of the nearly five hundred past studio art majors of Gustavus Adolphus College from those years who have contact information with the Office of Alumni Relations were invited to participate, and around half of the artists exhibiting are from the class of 1990 or earlier. Many of the participants have continued to be very active in art since leaving Gustavus. The exhibition's subtitle references the first lines of an aphorism by the Greek physician Hippocrates, best known in their Latin translation Ars longa, vita brevis, which suggests that art endures even though life"or in the exhibition's variant, the length of one's college career"is brief.


Artists exhibiting in Ars Longa, Academia Brevis include:

Heather Duggan Anderson (1997)

Terry M. Anderson (1971)

Sheila McNellis Asato (1982)

Donald Baker (1975)

Sara Christensen Blair (2000)

Kevin Bowen (1983)

Bruce M. Boyce (1973)

Kay Carlson-Gritton (1959)

Randall Carrigan (1988)

Brianna Chies (2006)

Tiffany L. Clark (2005)

Kiersten Dahl-Shetka (1990)

Susan M. Davies (1982)

Randi Dettling (2009)

Laurenbrook (Swanson) Ellingson (1979)

Johannah Erickson (2009)

Elizabeth Faldet (2009)

Faith Farrell (1989)

Melissa Friebe (2007)

John C. Gaunt (1991)

Linda Leonardson Hallman (1964)

Milton "Gus eHallman (2000)

Susan (Carlson) Hayes (1972)

Todd Heimdahl (1964)

Wayne Henrikson (1963)

Lisa Bang Hoffman (1991)

Whitney P. Hohman (2008)

Joel Jackson (1971)

Denise Willey Johnson (1996)

Wendy J. Johnson (1979)

Andrew Judkins (2002)

Chris Koivisto (1993)

E. Gregory Koivisto (1968)

Jessica Brost Kovarik (2004)

Nicholas Legeros (1977)

Eric Lennartson (1992)

Kari Larter Lennartson (1997)

Anthony Marchetti (2001)

Karen E. McCall (1977)

Linda Jean Larson Magozzi McNary (1965)

Janice Broehl Meintsma (1983)

Lisa M. Melmed (1982)

Jane Mjolsness (1984)

Joni D. (Anderson) Myers (1983)

Christine Myhr (1987)

Lyna Lou Nordstrom (1968)

Peter Olsen (1983)

Chris Price (2002)

Ben Raines (2003)

Geri Johnson Reimer (1951)

Brian D. Robb (1972)

Bruce Allyn Robb (1977)

Sonja Roth (1980)

Roy Schwen (1959)

Mya Follansbee Shaftel (1995)

Sara Sonnabend (2002)

Gail Johnson Speckmann (1973)

Elliot Stewart-Franzen (2004)

Brita DeRemee Taracks (1983)

R. Alex Therien (2000)

Robert Therien (1966)

Cheryl Walker (1980)

Robin Engfer West (1976) Give a gift to Hillstrom Museum of Art