Presidents' Awards for Civic Engagement

Due February 8, 2017

Open Invitation to Submit Nominations

Members of the Gustavus Community are invited to submit nominations for the 2017 Presidents’ Awards for Civic Engagement. The President’s Awards provide an opportunity for presidents who are members of Minnesota Campus Compact to give statewide recognition to effective leaders in the development of campus-community partnerships. Each president from a Minnesota Campus Compact member institution may recognize one honoree in each of three categories listed below.  You may submit as many nominations as you wish.

Category 1: Student Leadership Award

This award is for an individual student or a student organization that models a deep commitment to civic responsibility and leadership, evidenced by initiative, innovative and collaborative approaches to addressing public issues, effective community building, and integration of civic engagement into the college experience.

Previous Award Winners

  • Service Leadership Cohort – 2011
  • Ben Batz – 2012
  • Katelyn Warburton – 2013
  • Anna McDevitt – 2014
  • Nicole Eknitphong 2015
  • Hayley Nemmers & Abby Nistler – 2016

Category 2: Civic Engagement Steward Award

This award is for a member of the faculty, administration, or staff or for a group (e.g., advisory committee, task force, project team) that has significantly advanced their campus’ distinctive civic mission by forming strong partnerships, supporting others’ civic engagement, and working to institutionalize a culture and practice of engagement.

Previous Award Winners

  • Dr. Kyle E. Chambers, Psychological Science – 2011
  • Dr. Marie Walker, Psychological Science – 2012
  • Dr. Elizabeth Baer, English – 2013
  • Lynnea Myers, Nursing – 2014
  • Dr. Sarah Wolter, Communication Studies – 2015
  • Dr. Angelique Dwyer, Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures – 2016

Category 3: Community Partner Award

This award is for a community-based organization that has enhanced the quality of life in the community in meaningful and measurable ways and has engaged in the development of sustained, reciprocal partnerships with the college, thus enriching educational as well as community outcomes.

Previous Award Winners

  • Partnership Council – 2011
  • Ben Leonard, Nicollet County Historical Society – 2012
  • Mayo Health System – 2013
  • Peter Olson, Children’s Museum of Southern Minnesota 2014
  • Dr. Paul Peterson on behalf of Saint Peter Public Schools – 2015
  • Jane Timmerman '75, City of Saint Peter – 2016

Make a Nomination

Honorees and presidents will celebrate the nature and results of this exemplary work at a special awards ceremony and luncheon during Minnesota Campus Compact’s Annual Summit and Awards Ceremony to be held April 5, 2017, at University of St. Thomas. Award winners will also receive a certificate and recognition in the event program, and the brief profile provided will be posted on MNCC’s website. Recipients will be invited to participate throughout the Summit and to consider presenting a brief “This I Believe” statement at the summit.

Please submit electronic nominations no later than Wednesday, February 8, 2017 by 5:00 p.m.

Please do not hesitate to contact Tonya Kjerland, Director for Community-Based service & Learning, if you have specific questions.

Thank you for your interest and support in the Minnesota Campus Compact President’s Awards for Civic Engagement.


Rebecca Bergman