Habitat for Humanity

Habitat

Gustavus Habitat for Humanity works with local affiliates and chapters from around the country to build affordable housing for families in need. The Gustavus chapter provides the opportunity for alternative breaks (fall and spring), Act! Speak! Build! Week, and various local service opportunities throughout the year.

Mission

Habitat for Humanity strives to meet the needs of affordable housing through building, fund raising, advocacy, education and organizing consistent with our values of community, compassion, service, faith and teamwork.

Spring Break Home-Building Trip

Each year we travel to three sites around the country over spring break to build homes with Habitat for Humanity. Applications for students are available in the CBSL office. First come, first-served!! Applications will be handed out in front of the Community Engagement Office beginning at 7:00 a.m. on WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 14.

Sites for spring 2019 will be determined and revealed to the campus at 10:00 a.m. on Monday, November 12. Dates of the trip are Saturday, March 30 (departing at 11:00 a.m.) and returning to campus on Sunday, April 7 (mid-late afternoon).

2017-18 Spring Break sites were Winston-Salem, NC, Taos, NM and Lafayette, LA. Check out our reveal video! and this local news article from the Winston-Salem trip.

Applications for 2019 Trip Advisor for faculty and staff: Trip Advisor Application

Trip Advisor guidelines: Habitat for Humanity Trip Advisor Guidelines

Fall Break Home-Building Trip

Over fall break (October 19-23, 2018) 18 Gusties travelled to Baraboo, WI to the local Habitat for Humanity site. Photos coming soon!

Annual Activities

  • We work with local chapters, including St. Peter, Mankato and Belle Plaine, on their Habitat houses. We typically help build on Saturdays when needed and can take between 5-15 volunteers depending on the job.
  • We raise funds throughout the year to support the program and individual costs for participating in alternative spring breaks. Offering valet parking for the Nobel Conference every fall is one example.
  • Act, Speak, Build week is in the spring where we build a shed on campus to donate to the St. Peter Habitat house (the house is built at the St. Peter High School). In the past, we have brought speakers and politicians to campus to talk about homelessness and poverty issues.
  • Every spring break, Gustavus sends over 75 students to Habitat for Humanity affiliate sites to participate in the Collegiate Challenge, an alternative break program. Students travel as far away as Miami to spend a week constructing houses and rebuilding communities. The Collegiate Challenge is one of Gustavus Habitat for Humanity's biggest successes each year by getting volunteers to spend their time in a meaningful and rewarding way while raising awareness on housing issues across the nation. For more information, check out this video: http://www.habitat.org/videogallery/video_upload/2009/cc_final2.wmv 

Search for Opportunities and Track Service Hours

Click the image below to view Habitat for Humanity's Gustavus Engage page, where you can search for upcoming volunteer opportunities and track your service hours.

Gustavus Engage

Coordinators
Name Role Gustavus Email Address
Abbie Beigner Co-president abiegner@gustavus.edu
Marie Osuna Co-president mosuna@gustavus.edu
Joey Lackner Treasurer jlackner@gustavus.edu
Ellie Anderson Fall/Spring Break Work Trip Coordinator eander37@gustavus.edu
Kylie Arvidson Fall/Spring Break Work Trip Coordinator kavridso@gustavus.edu
Elsa Beise Volunteer Coordinator ebeise@gustavus.edu
Hannah Deyo Public Relations hdeyo@gustavus.edu
Natalie Page Public Relations npage@gustavus.edu
Andrea Post Outreach & Education apost2@gustavus.edu
Nolan Larson Outreach & Education nlarson5@gustavus.edu
Marisa Jasicki Act.Speak.Build. Week Coordinator mjasicki@gustavus.edu
Jadyn Knipp Act.Speak.Build. Week Coordinator jknipp@gustavus.edu