Student Orgs

Sigma Tau Delta

Student Organization Name
Sigma Tau Delta
Type
Academic / Honorary
Statement Of Purpose/ Mission
To promote interest and knowledge of literature, theater, and the fine arts for the members of the society, all English majors and minors, and the greater Gustavus campus.
Constitution
Article I: Name The name of this organization shall be the Gustavus Adolphus College Pi Rho Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta. Article II: Statement of Purpose The purposes of this organization shall be to: A. establish a community of scholars with similar interests and talents; B. provide opportunities for members to extend their interest in literature and language beyond the classroom; C. organize and sponsor trips to conferences and workshops, to provide career counseling, and to encourage the production and presentation of creative and analytical work; D. stimulate an interest in literature and language in the College and in the larger community by sponsoring book discussions and other events. Article III: Affiliation A. This organization shall operate according to the regulations and policies of Gustavus Adolphus College, and in compliance with all local, state, and federal laws. B. This organization shall adhere to the regulations and constitution of the international organization of Sigma Tau Delta that do not conflict with the regulations and policies of Gustavus Adolphus College. Article IV: Nondiscrimination This organization shall not discriminate on the basis of age, race, color, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, disability, veteran's status, ancestry, or political affiliation. Article V: Membership A. Members must meet the following requirements: 1. Must have completed 3 courses offered by the English department; 2. must be an English major or English minor; 3. must have at least a 3.0 GPA; 4. must have obtained a ranking in the highest thirty-five percent of their classes in general scholarship; 5. and must have completed at least three semesters of college course work. Article VI: Officers A. Elected officers: the elected officers of this organization will hold the titles: 1. President 2. Secretary/Treasurer But will act together as Co-Presidents. B. Term of Office: An officer shall serve for two years from his or her swearing in, or until his or her successor is appointed or elected. One new officer will be sworn in each year, and the younger will be recorded officially as the Secretary/Treasurer, and the next year will become the official President. C. Duties: The duties of the officers shall be as follows: 1. Co-Presidents shall: a. be the chief executive officers of the organization and preside over the meetings; b. submit additional information as it is required to the Student Activities office; d. assist the faculty advisor and the treasurer in preparation of requests for funding from the Gustavus Adolphus College Student Senate, and shall sign said requests; e. keep records official minutes in print form of all meetings; f . and report an accounting of revenues and expenses upon request at any organizational meeting. Article VII: Elections A. Types of Elections: General elections will be held to replace the officer whose term is due to expire. Special elections shall be held when an office is vacated midterm. B. Nomination of Candidates: A candidate for office must be a volunteer. C. Time of Elections: General elections shall be held at the end of Spring Semester and special elections will be held as necessary. D. Form of Vote: All elections shall be by email, or secret ballot. Article VIII: Removal of Officers Any officer not fulfilling his/her duties as outlined in this Constitution or in the Bylaws of this organization may be removed by the membership providing that the following guidelines have been observed: A. Voting: A two-thirds majority vote of the total voting membership shall be required for the removal of any officer. Voting shall be conducted by secret ballot. B. Notice of Charges: Officers subject to removal shall receive written notice of the charges against them two weeks prior to the vote for their removal. C. Fair Hearing: Officers subject to removal shall be allowed to respond to any and all charges before the vote for removal is conducted. Article IX: Advisor English department faculty shall annually designate a faculty advisor. Said advisor shall have no voting privileges. Article X: Financial Support The finances of this organization will come from fund raising projects and the Gustavus Adolphus College Student Senate. Article XI: Amendments A. Notice: A proposal to amend this Constitution or the Bylaws must be presented to the total voting membership in the form of a written motion at least seven days before it is voted on. B. Voting: Amendments must pass by a two-thirds majority of the total voting membership.
Affiliations
National
Application Type
apply
Members
RoleOrganization TitleFull NameE-mail
AdvisorAdvisorSean Cobbscobb@gustavus.edu
PresidentCo-PresidentAbby Huff
PresidentCo-PresidentJustin Feitjfeit@gustavus.edu
SecretaryDarcy Coulterdcoulter@gustavus.edu
TreasurerLaurel Carlsonlcarlso9@gustavus.edu
AdvisorAdvisorJenny Tollefsonjtollefs@gustavus.edu
MemberAndrea Blomablom@gustavus.edu
MemberAaron Lawrencealawrenc@gustavus.edu
MemberBen Thrashbthrash@gustavus.edu
MemberCaitlin Skvorccskvorc@gustavus.edu
MemberLibby Larsonelarso11@gustavus.edu
MemberElizabeth Lutzelutz@gustavus.edu
MemberEmily Olsoneolson7@gustavus.edu
MemberElizabeth Weierseweiers@gustavus.edu
MemberHeather Kokhkok@gustavus.edu
MemberJackie Johnsonjjohns26@gustavus.edu
MemberJill Smithjsmith11@gustavus.edu
MemberKelsey Abelekabele@gustavus.edu
MemberLauren Biermannlbierman@gustavus.edu
MemberMari Aunemaune2@gustavus.edu
MemberMiki McClellanmmcclell@gustavus.edu
MemberNick Mullenmeisternmullenm@gustavus.edu
MemberOlivia Del Viscioodelvisc@gustavus.edu
MemberPaige Rasmussenprasmus2@gustavus.edu
MemberRebecca Harerhare@gustavus.edu
MemberSami Manicksmanick@gustavus.edu
MemberSarah Spandesspande2@gustavus.edu
MemberTory Clarkvclark@gustavus.edu
Risk ManagerAbby Huff

E-mail organization