Student Orgs

Gustavus Model United Nations

Student Organization Name
Gustavus Model United Nations
Type
Academic / Honorary
Statement Of Purpose/ Mission
Our purpose is to make ourselves as well as the student body more aware of international issues, the United Nations and its associated organizations
Constitution
Gustavus Model United Nations Constitution I. Name a. The name of this organization shall be the Gustavus Model United Nations II. Purpose a. Our purpose as the Model United Nations is to make ourselves, as well as the student body, more aware of international issues and the United Nations and its related organizations III. Membership a. Membership in this organization is open to all students who are interested in learning about international issues, as well as participating in Model United Nations conferences. b. A member remains in good standing by attending at least one Model United Nations conference a year. IV. Officers a. The following officer positions shall exist in the Model United Nations; President, Secretary and Treasurer. All officers must be full-time students in good standing enrolled at Gustavus Adolphus College. The only person who has additional requirements that must be met is the President. They must have been members of the organization for at least one year and attended at least one conference before becoming president. b. The duties of each office are described as follows i. President 1. To organize and preside over meetings 2. To function as a spokesperson for the Model United Nations 3. To facilitate communication between executive board members 4. To work with the advisor and other executive board members to create yearly goals for the organization 5. To facilitate monthly executive board meetings ii. Secretary 1. To keep a written record of Model United Nations meetings 2. To keep club members informed of upcoming meetings and events 3. To assist in the development of yearly organizational goals. iii. Treasurer 1. To maintain the finances of the Model United Nations and keep accurate records of all financial matters 2. To coordinate fund raising efforts 3. To work with the executive board to create a yearly budget c. Candidates for office will be nominated and voted on during April for office during the following year. Voting will take place by paper ballots and a simple majority will elect a member to executive board. d. The term of office will begin in September and continue for an entire school year. Vacancies shall be filled by the president e. The members of the Model United Nations may remove an executive board member from office by a 2/3 vote. V. Meetings a. Meetings will be held a minimum of once a month during the academic year b. During preparations for conferences meeting will also be held as decided upon by the president and members. VI. Amendments All members of the Model United Nations that are in good standing may propose amendments. Amendments will be presented to members 2 weeks in advance of voting. Amendments require a 2/3 vote by members
Affiliations
none
Application Type
register with leadership in order to become a member
Website
www.amun.org
Members
RoleOrganization TitleFull NameE-mail
AdvisorMimi Gerstbauermgerstba@gustavus.edu
SecretaryCarl Croninccronin@gustavus.edu
Risk ManagerMatthew Erdahlmerdahl@gustavus.edu
MemberAbbie Barrettabarret2@gustavus.edu
MemberAmelia Milbergeramilberg@gustavus.edu
TreasurerAlba Murillo Quirogaamurillo@gustavus.edu
MemberDevon Bealkedbealke@gustavus.edu
MemberBrittany Knutsonbknutso2@gustavus.edu
MemberColleen Caldwellccaldwe2@gustavus.edu
MemberCourtney Hinzchinz@gustavus.edu
MemberDavid Rolanddroland@gustavus.edu
MemberDanielle Yastedyaste@gustavus.edu
MemberErik Johnsonejohns16@gustavus.edu
MemberErick Perezeperez2@gustavus.edu
MemberElizabeth Weierseweiers@gustavus.edu
PresidentHaley Collerhcoller@gustavus.edu
MemberIan Elletsonielletso@gustavus.edu
MemberJacob Borgmannjborgman@gustavus.edu
PresidentJose Carreonjcarreon@gustavus.edu
MemberJulia Kramerjkramer3@gustavus.edu
MemberJames Urquhartjurquhar@gustavus.edu
MemberKenny Hallkhall4@gustavus.edu
MemberLogan Boeselboese@gustavus.edu
MemberNatalie Green
MemberPhuong Anh Tranptran@gustavus.edu
MemberSydney Rickstromsrickstr@gustavus.edu
MemberTianan Zhutzhu@gustavus.edu
MemberYutshua Leeylee2@gustavus.edu
PresidentNaweed Ahmadzainahmadza@gustavus.edu

E-mail organization