Student Orgs

Peer Assistants

Student Organization Name
Peer Assistants
Type
Awareness
Statement Of Purpose/ Mission
The mission of the Peer Assistants is to create change concerning lifestyle and chemical health issues by acting in the roles of a friend, an educator, an activist, a role model, and a team member. THE PEER ASSISTANTS ACT AS A: Friend by being available to listen to other people’s stories and as a bridge to campus resources. EDUCATOR by teaching decision-making skills and strategies to stay safe along with dispelling myths and misperceptions using the latest health information. ACTIVIST by creating partnerships and networks, challenging unhealthy attitudes and behaviors, and refusing to be a passive bystander. ROLE MODEL by leading lives that are healthy and balanced. TEAM MEMBER by being supportive and encouraging of other peer assistants and collaborating partner organization members
Constitution
Constitution of the Peer Assistants ARTICLE I: NAME Section 1: The name of this organization shall be the Peer Assistants. Section 2: The organization is affiliated with BACCHUS and Gamma Peer Education Network. ARTICLE II: PURPOSE The purpose of this organization shall be to recognize and educate on a variety of lifestyle issues facing the Gustavus community through social, educational and wellness type activities. ARTICLE III: MEMBERSHIP Section 1: Membership in this organization is open to sophomores, juniors, and seniors who have successfully completed the three part application process held in March and April and have been selected by the standing organization members. Section 2: There is no hierarchy of officers, but a treasurer and secretary are selected each year for purposes of organization. Section 3: Members have previously applied and have been selected by the existing group. Section 4: Members must attend a weekly meeting and hold one office hour each week. If one misses more than three meetings in a semester, breaks any issues of confidentiality, or obtains an underage consumption or other alcohol/drug related citation while one is a Peer Assistant, they will be dismissed by the advisor and the members of the group. ARTICLE IV: OFFICERS Section 1: We do not choose officer positions, but one returning member acts as treasurer and one member acts as secretary. Section 2: The treasurer attends to the budget, tracks expenditures, submits proposals, and questions reports to the senate. The secretary records minutes and distributes them to the members. ARTICLE V: MEETINGS Section 1: Meetings are held weekly on Sunday evenings at 9:00 pm in the Peer Assistance Center. The agenda is set by the requests received from the campus and the meeting is student-led on a rotating basis. Section 2: Attendance is mandatory, so absence is considered to be giving up the right to vote or make decisions at the meeting. Section 3: Decisions are made by a simple majority. Section 4: A special meeting might be called in the even of a crisis or tragedy by the advisor or any three Peer Assistants with 2 days of notice. ARTICLE VI: EXECUTIVE BOARD Section 1: There is no Executive Board, but committees may be formed at will. ARTICLE VII: COMMITTEES Section 1: A special committee can be formed to work on a particular awareness week or even. All those interested will compose the committee. In addition, volunteers from the campus community who show interest are also invited to participate. ARTICLE IX: FINANCES Section 1: The organization is allotted a block allocation from the student senate and we do fundraising for additional spending and travel cost. ARTICLE X: AMENDMENTS Section 1: Any member and the advisor can propose amendments, which would be proposed at a weekly meeting and reviewed by the entire group. Section 2: Amendments are brought up one week before the vote, the following Sunday evening. Section 3: Amendments are effective immediately.
Affiliations
The organization is affiliated with BACCHUS and Gamma Peer Education Network.
Application Type
apply
Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Gustavus-Peer-Assistants/250937451593219
Website
http://orgs.gustavus.edu/peer_assistants/
Members
RoleOrganization TitleFull NameE-mail
PresidentRebecca Stewartrstewart@gustavus.edu
PresidentAlexandria Ceranskeacerans2@gustavus.edu
SecretaryGreg Wiessner
Risk ManagerDillon Halldhall3@gustavus.edu
TreasurerJoe Poblockijpoblock@gustavus.edu
Vice PresidentEric Pothenepothen@gustavus.edu
PresidentMari Tabatamtabata@gustavus.edu
MemberAbby Lylealyle@gustavus.edu
MemberKaitlyn Reedkreed3@gustavus.edu
MemberKelli Remboldtkrembold@gustavus.edu
MemberKelly Lindahlklindahl@gustavus.edu
MemberShelby Gamachesgamache@gustavus.edu
MemberAndrew Romearome@gustavus.edu
MemberKrystal Kreutzerkkreutze@gustavus.edu
MemberJace Rigginjriggin@gustavus.edu
MemberMatt Bauermbauer@gustavus.edu
MemberSam Olson-Anstettsolsonan@gustavus.edu
AdvisorStephen Bennettsbennett@gustavus.edu

E-mail organization