Student Orgs

Firethorne Literary Journal

Student Organization Name
Firethorne Literary Journal
Type
Academic / Honorary
Statement Of Purpose/ Mission
The purpose of this organization shall be to: provide opportunities for students to publish works of writing and art in a literary journal, provide opportunities for students to gain knowledge and understanding as to how to publish a literary journal by releasing at least one per academic year, and to stimulate an interest in literature and art in the general student body of the Gustavus Adolphus College campus.
Constitution
Constitution for the Gustavus Adolphus College Firethorne Literary Journal Article I: Name The name of this organization shall be the Gustavus Adolphus College Firethorne Literary Journal Article II: Statement of Purpose The purpose of this organization shall be to: A. provide opportunities for students to publish works of writing and art in a literary journal B. provide opportunities for students to gain knowledge and understanding as to how to publish a literary journal by releasing at least one per academic year C. stimulate an interest in literature and art in the general student body of the Gustavus Adolphus College campus Article III: Affiliation This organization shall operate according to the regulations and policies of Gustavus Adolphus College, and in compliance with all local, state, and federal laws. Article IV: Nondiscrimination This organization shall not discriminate on the basis of age, race, color, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, disability, veteran's status, ancestry, or political affiliation. Article V: Editors and Staff A. Managing Editor and Organizational Manager will be chosen by the faculty advisor. B. The faculty advisor and the Managing Editor and Organizational Manager will together select other staff positions. The staff positions include the Managing Editor, responsible for printing and bidding of the journal and the Organizational Manager, responsible for advertising and other forms of promotion and finance, and the genre editors (Prose Editors, Poetry Editors, and Art Editors), responsible in conjunction with the Editor for collecting and evaluating submissions in their particular genre, selecting texts for inclusion in Firethorne, and editing the selected texts as needed. Remaining staff will serve as readers of submissions, responsible for evaluating submissions and sending their recommendations to the appropriate genre editor. Article VI: Submission Policy A. Students may submit their work by emailing firethorne@gustavus.edu. Emails must attach prose and poetry in Microsoft Word format (.doc, please avoid .docx) in a standard font without color (Times New Roman, 12 pt.), while artwork and photography must be sent as a JPEG file with reasonable file compression (300-600 dpi). Students may submit as many pieces as they desire; however, a greater number of submissions does not guarantee publication. Firethorne will not publish anonymous work or materials submitted from a non-Gustavus email address. B. The Organizational Manager and the Managing Editor will systematically code all submitted work and turn over the submitted work, without attribution, for the editors’ scrutiny. Firethorne staff will admit submissions for creativity, originality, and artistic value. C. For prose, submissions should be 3000 words or less. Artwork and photography can be color and up to any size, however please take note that color may be cost prohibitive depending on availability of funds. In this event, Firethorne staff will convert artwork to grayscale with the submitter’s consent. D. Submissions marked for publication will appear in their original submitted form except for technical aspects such as font, size, page placement, and corrections of obvious grammatical errors. Style changes (i.e. word substitutions, changes in length of the work, word omissions, etc.) recommended by the editors will be made only with the submitter’s consent. The advisor’s approval is also required on all editorial changes to submission. If recommended changes are not approved by the submitter, they will not be made; however the publication of the work will then be determined by the Firethorne staff as it reflects our artistic mission for the publication as a whole. It is against Firethorne policy to publish works that do not reflect the submitter’s artistic integrity. E. Firethorne may publish up to two pieces total of poetry, prose, or art by staff members. However, their submitted work will undergo objective, anonymous evaluation, selection, and editing like all other submissions. F. The views and/or opinions expressed in this publication are not to be taken as those of Firethorne staff of its associated bodies. Materials deemed to place the publication at risk for liability with regard to obscenity or profanity in connection with hate speech, slander or other illegal forms of speech will be removed at the staff’s discretion. Work found to be fraudulent in nature or plagiarized will be disqualified upon confirmation.
Affiliations
N/A
Application Type
apply
Website
http://gustavus.edu/orgs/firethorne/
Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/gacfirethorne
Twitter
http://twitter.com/GACfirethorne
Members
RoleOrganization TitleFull NameE-mail
AdvisorBaker Lawleyblawley@gustavus.edu
PresidentManaging EditorKristina Ericksen
Vice PresidentOrganizational ManagerAbby Huff
Risk ManagerKristina Ericksen
MemberLayout EditorPaige Rasmussenprasmus2@gustavus.edu
MemberLayout EditorRebecca Harerhare@gustavus.edu
TreasurerElisabeth Kraneekrane@gustavus.edu
MemberCaitlin Skvorccskvorc@gustavus.edu
MemberAvery Maijalaamaijala@gustavus.edu
MemberJenny Hansonjhanson6@gustavus.edu
MemberLaura Schroederlschroe2@gustavus.edu
MemberEmily Hambergehamberg@gustavus.edu
MemberDarcy Coulterdcoulter@gustavus.edu
MemberEmmie Belpedioebelped2@gustavus.edu
MemberMike Sterlingmsterlin@gustavus.edu
AdvisorJenny Tollefsonjtollefs@gustavus.edu
MemberEleanor Mithunemithun@gustavus.edu
MemberJill Smithjsmith11@gustavus.edu
MemberBeatrice Winterbwinter@gustavus.edu
MemberArt Section EditorCameron Jarviscjarvis2@gustavus.edu
MemberErika Cliftoneclifton@gustavus.edu
MemberElizabeth Lutzelutz@gustavus.edu
MemberPoetry Section EditorJustin Feitjfeit@gustavus.edu
MemberJoe Poblockijpoblock@gustavus.edu
MemberKory Koliskkolis@gustavus.edu
SecretaryLauren Biermannlbierman@gustavus.edu
MemberLily Whitney-Eliasonlwhitney@gustavus.edu
MemberProse Section EditorNathaniel Chasenchase@gustavus.edu
MemberRebecca Snapprsnapp@gustavus.edu
MemberSami Manicksmanick@gustavus.edu
MemberSydney Seewaldsseewald@gustavus.edu
MemberAnne Salmelaasalmela@gustavus.edu
MemberAaron Lawrencealawrenc@gustavus.edu

E-mail organization