Student Orgs

Health Majors Club

Student Organization Name
Health Majors Club
Type
Special Interest
Statement Of Purpose/ Mission
Provide the Gustavus community with health-related information and offer exercise classes throughout the semester.
Constitution
HEALTH AND EXERCISE SCIENCE CLUB CONSTITUTION ARTICLE I: NAME The name of this organization shall be The Health and Exercise Science Club. ARTICLE II: PURPOSE The purpose of this group is to promote wellness on campus by leading group exercise classes, attending campus fairs and events, and organizing campus events. ARTICLE III: MEMBERSHIP Section 1: Membership in this organization is open to all students trying to attain a degree in the Health and Exercise Science department. Section 2: The following categories of membership exist in the Gus Fan Club: Members (those students involved in club execution and duties) Supporters (those students who participate in the classes and events) Section 3: Members are accepted continually throughout the year. ARTICLE IV: OFFICERS Section 1: The following officer positions shall exist in the Gus Fan Club: President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Publicist, and Risk Manager. All officers must be full-time students in good standing enrolled at Gustavus Adolphus College. The only position that has additional requirements that must be met is the President. They must have been a member of the organization for at least one year before becoming President. If no qualified parties are interested, this requirement may be waived with the majority agreement of the membership present. Section 2: The duties of each office are described as follows: A. President 1. To organize and preside over meetings 2. To function as a spokesperson for the club 3. To facilitate communication between executive board members 4. To work with the advisor and other executive board members to create yearly goals for the organization 5. To lead monthly meetings Section 3: Candidates for office must be nominated verbally by current members. Each nominee will verbally explain to the group why he/she is interested in the position. A majority vote will determine the officers. Section 4: The term of office begins at the beginning of June, with the month of May serving as a transition month between old and new officers. The term of office shall last for one calendar year. ARTICLE V: MEETINGS Section 1: Meetings will be held a minimum of once a month during the academic year. The Executive Board will meet at the beginning of each semester to set meeting dates. The Secretary is responsible for informing members of meetings. The President will set the agenda for the meetings with input from all members and Executive Board members. Section 2: Decisions are made by voting. A majority vote will pass. In the case of a tie, the President make the final decision. Section 3: Meetings will be called at least one week in advance. ARTICLE VI: EXECUTIVE BOARD Section 1: The Executive Board shall be comprised of the President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Publicist, and Risk Manager. Section 2: The executive board shall meet once a month to discuss the planning of club events. At the board’s first meeting of each semester, the group will decide what they hope to accomplish during the year and set a timeline of dates to allow for such goals to be accomplished. ARTICLE VII: COMMITTEES The advisor will create committees on an as-needed basis. ARTICLE VIII: FINANCES Funds for the HES club are derived from a campus Coca Cola Grant and from the student senate. ARTICLE IX: BY-LAWS By laws can be made by the advisor or members, and must pass with a 2/3 vote. ARTICLE X: AMENDMENTS Amendments can be made by the advisor or members, and must pass with a 2/3 vote. Date of Ratification: February 2013
Affiliations
Local
Application Type
apply
Members
RoleOrganization TitleFull NameE-mail
AdvisorAdvisorStephanie Ottosotto@gustavus.edu
PresidentCassie Rognesscrogness@gustavus.edu
SecretaryKatie Hopfnerkhopfner@gustavus.edu
TreasurerJanelle Derbiquejderbiqu@gustavus.edu
Risk ManagerKelsey Wiebuschkwiebusc@gustavus.edu
MemberAli Eickhoffaeickho2@gustavus.edu
MemberAnne Salmelaasalmela@gustavus.edu
MemberNatalie Goffinngoffin@gustavus.edu
MemberChelsey Richardsoncrichar2@gustavus.edu
MemberAlexis Qualeaquale@gustavus.edu
MemberKelsey Wiebuschkwiebusc@gustavus.edu
MemberCameron Cropseyccropsey@gustavus.edu
MemberAlex Brodjeskiabrodjes@gustavus.edu
MemberBrennie Bensonbbenson@gustavus.edu
MemberPeter Mouapmoua5@gustavus.edu
MemberBo LaFountaineelafount@gustavus.edu
MemberGunnar Boettchergboettch@gustavus.edu
MemberPhillyb Butlerpbutler@gustavus.edu
MemberAngela Gewerthagewert2@gustavus.edu
Vice PresidentMaggie Kingmking2@gustavus.edu
MemberMaggie Arndtearndt@gustavus.edu

E-mail organization