Sigma Pi Sigma Information

Through the initiative of current students, and particularly from some in the Class of 2004, and with the guidance of Professor Chuck Niederriter, we now have a chapter of Sigma Pi Sigma (ΣΠΣ), the national physics honor society. ΣΠΣ was founded in 1921 and is a member honor society of the Association of College Honor Societies. Sigma Pi Sigma is a lifetime membership. Nomination and election are by the faculty, based on a combination of student achievement in course work and research, and participation in department and SPS activities. Sigma Pi Sigma is a member of the American Institute of Physics and “exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics.”

The following members of the Class of 2004 were elected to Sigma Pi Sigma: Amit Bohara, Jason Crnkovic, Scott Ernst, Nathan Johnson, David Kupka, and Andrew Konicek.


Dr. Charles Niederriter