Economics & Management Events

Next Event

Guest Lecture: Can friendships survive contact with the market? by Ginny Choi of the Mercatus Center at George Mason University

December 4

Guest Lecture: Can friendships survive contact with the market? - Ginny Choi of the Mercatus Center at George Mason University

Date: Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Location: Beck Hall 101
Time: 4:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m

Ginny Choi is an Associate Director of Academic & Student Programs and a Senior Fellow in F.A. Hayek Program for Advanced Study in Philosophy, Politics, and Economics, and a Senior Research Fellow at The Mercatus Center at George Mason University. She specializes in Austrian and experimental economics. Her research primarily focuses on the moral and social aspects of markets. She is currently writing a book titled A Moral Case for Markets with Virgil H. Storr (George Mason University). Choi earned her Ph.D. in Economics from George Mason University (Fairfax, VA), M.A. in Economics from New York University (New York, NY) and B.A. in Economics from Emory University (Atlanta, GA).

Can friendships survive contact with the market? - Critics of markets have often asserted that markets undermine morality and that market dealings are unfair and corrupting. In their perspective, the expansion of the market and market values taint the nature of the goods being exchanged and the relationships between the parties to the deal. This chapter gives reasons to suspect this critique of markets and attempts to push back against these complaints. It argues that the market is a social arena where individuals not only pursue their material goals but also exercise their moral selves; after all, meaningful social bonds characterized by trust and trustworthiness can and do develop in market settings. The market depends on and promotes trust and trustworthiness as well as fairness and reciprocity and these values, as suggested by experimental economic evidence, play important roles in successful market exchanges.

Upcoming events
Date Event
Dec 4 4:305:30 pm Guest Lecture: Can friendships survive contact with the market? by Ginny Choi of the Mercatus Center at George Mason Universityhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/guest-lecture-can-friendships-survive-contact-with-the-market-by-ginny-choi-of-the-mercatus-center-at-george-mason-university/58963Beck 101
Past events
Date Event
Nov 13 4:305:30 pm Guest Lecture: Wealth-Destroying Private Property Rights by prof. Colin Harris of St. Olaf Collegehttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/guest-lecture-wealth-destroying-private-property-rights-by-prof-colin-harris-of-st-olaf-college/58917Beck 101
Nov 12 6:307:30 pm We Rise: The Power of Connectionshttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/we-rise-the-power-of-connections/58997Heritage Room, Jackson Campus Center
Sep 19 4:305:20 pm Econ Summer Research Presentationshttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/econ-summer-research-presentations/57429Beck 101
May 12 25 pm Gustie Entrepreneur Cup 2018https://gustavus.edu/calendar/gustie-entrepreneur-cup-2018/53753Beck Atrium
Apr 26 57 pm Life After the Hillhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/life-after-the-hill/55335Campus Center Banquet Room
Apr 18 78:30 pm Lindau Residency in Conservative Thought - Dr. Walter Williamshttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/lindau-residency-in-conservative-thought-dr-walter-williams/52825Alumni Hall
Feb 27 MN Private College Career Job and Internship Fairhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/mn-private-college-career-job-and-internship-fair-2/54622Minneapolis Convention Center
Feb 21 4:305:30 pm 5 Steps to $5000https://gustavus.edu/calendar/5-steps-to-5000-2/54625Beck 101
Feb 57 GWiL Business Bootcamphttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/gwil-business-bootcamp/53953Twin Cities
Jan 16 4:305:20 pm 5 Steps to $5khttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/5-steps-to-5k/54351Beck 101
Dec 4, 2017 6:308 pm Real Life 101: Career - Career Resourcehttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/real-life-101-career-career-resource/53886Career Development Office
Nov 30, 2017 10:3011:20 am Technology Management And Envisioning A Careerhttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/technology-management-and-envisioning-a-career/54009Beck 301
Nov 27, 2017 6:308 pm Real Life 101: Career - MN Private Colleges Job/Intern Fair Infohttps://gustavus.edu/calendar/real-life-101-career-mn-private-colleges-job-intern-fair-info/53885Career Development Office