2017 ITA Midwest Regional Championships presented by Oracle

Sept. 22-24, 2017 | Gustavus Adolphus College









ST. PETER, Minn. (Sept. 24) - [update at 11:20 a.m.] Gustavus's Briana Hartmann defeated Alex Talyansky of UW-Whitewater 6-2, 6-3 in the singles semifinals of the ITA Midwest Regional, hosted by Gustavus Adolphus College. Hartmann will face Jillian Wallace of UW-Whitewater, who defeated Natalie Wijesinghe of UW-Eau Claire 6-3, 7-5. Doubles semifinals will begin one hour after the singles championship match. 

[update at 2:45 p.m.] Gustavus's Briana Hartmann defeated Jillian Wallace of UW-Whitewater 6-1, 6-1 for the singles championship of the ITA Midwest Regional. The victory earns Hartmann All-America status as one of eight region champions. 

[update at 6:30 p.m.] In the doubles final, McGuire and Wallace of UW-Whitewater defeated Bellissimo and Spahn of UW-La Crosse after getting shut out in the first set 0-6, 7-6(4), 10-5, advancing to the ITA Oracle Cup.

ST. PETER, Minn. (Sept. 23) – The final four singles and doubles pairings at the ITA Midwest Regional are set after Saturday’s play. In singles play, Jillian Wallace of UW-Whitewater will face Natalie Wijesinghe of UW-Eau Claire, while Alex Talyansky of UW-Whitewater will take on Braina Hartmann of Gustavus. In doubles, top-seed Resnick and French of Coe will face No. 4 seed McGuire and Wallace of UW-Whitewater, while Bellissimo and Spahn of UW-La Crosse will take on Henderson and Wijesinghe of UW-Eau Claire.

ST. PETER, Minn. (Sept. 22) – Day one of the ITA Midwest Regional Championships and Gustie Fall Invite is complete as singles play moved on to at least the round of 32 in the ITA tourney and the Fall Invite draws are set up for the championship matches in each of the eight flights.

In the ITA regional, top-seeded Bridget Bellissimo of UW-La Crosse and No. 4 seed Natalie Wijesinghe of UW-Eau Claire have advanced to the round of 32, while No. 2 Danielle Vasiliev of Carleton and No. 3 Alex Talyansky of UW-Whitewater are in the round of 16, having played one more match. The rest of the top-eight seeds – Zoe Park of Carleton, Hayley Resnick of Coe, Milica Cvrkota of Grinnell, and Arantxa Martinez – remain in the fold with victories as well.

The ITA double went through the first two rounds and is now down to the round of 16. The top four rated teams of Resnick/French of Coe, Henderson/Wijesinghe of UW-Eau Claire, Bellissimo/Spahn of UW-La Crosse, and McGuire/Wallace of UW-Whitewater all remain alive in the touney.

The Gustie Fall Invite singles championship matches are set up as follows:

Draw 1: Hannah Zevenbergen (UW-Eau Claire) vs. Lydia Dean (Edgewood)

Draw 2: Shira Busch (UW-La Crosse) vs. Ellie Bergstrand (St. Olaf)

Draw 3: Tayler Garves (UW-La Crosse) vs. Tiffany Maggioncalda (Carroll)

Draw 4: Katelyn Rice (St. Scholastica) vs. Emily Knight (Northwestern)

Draw 5: Ella Graham (St. Catherine) vs. Colleen Lois (Saint Mary’s)

Draw 6: Gabby Oswald (UW-Eau Claire) vs. Nikki Paskewitz (Northwestern)

Draw 7: Jess Duda (St. Catherine) vs. Madeline Slicker (UW-Whitewater)

Draw 8: Lora Leach (Carroll) vs. Hannah Fox (Wartburg)

Only one round of Fall Invite doubles was played Friday, leaving three more rounds to play.

The ITA regional and Gustie Fall Invite continue at 9 a.m. Saturday. 

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

ST. PETER, Minn. (Sept. 21) - Gustavus Adolphus College is set to host the 2017 ITA Midwest Regional Championships presented by Oracle in St. Peter, Minn. this weekend. The tournament runs from Friday, September 22 through Sunday, September 24 and will feature 30 of the top teams in the region at eight sites throughout St. Peter and Mankato.

The Swanson Indoor Tennis Center, located on the west edge of the Gustavus campus, will serve as headquarters for the ITA Midwest Regional Championships, with matches also taking place at the adjacent Brown Outdoor Tennis Complex and the Gibbs Courts, which are also located on the Gustavus campus.

The singles and doubles champions from the ITA Regional Championships will advance to the ITA National Small College Championships. The ITA National Small College Championships are comprised of the eight regional champions (and/or at-large selections) from NCAA Divisions II and III, NAIA, and junior/community colleges. Over 8,000 student-athletes from NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA, Junior and Community Colleges compete at one of the 84 USTA/ITA Regional Championships held across the country.

The ITA National Small College Championships began in 1986 and annually crowns men’s and women’s singles and doubles national champions in each of the ITA’s four small college divisions (NCAA Divisions II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College). The ITA National Small College Championship is the only national championship event for singles and doubles at the NCAA Division II and NAIA levels. It is also the only tournament that combines all levels of Junior/Community College (NJCAA Divisions I and III and the California division). The singles and doubles champions at each divisional level will then compete to become the overall “Super Bowl” champions. The “Super Bowl” champions earn wild cards into the USTA/ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships with the opportunity to win the culminating event held at the USTA-Billie Jean King National Tennis Center.

As the governing body of collegiate tennis, the ITA promotes both the athletic and academic achievements of the collegiate tennis community. The ITA, which was founded in 1956 and is based in Skillman, N.J., administers numerous regional and national championships, the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit, presented by the USTA, and the ITA Rankings for men’s and women’s tennis at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior College levels. The ITA also has a comprehensive awards program for players and coaches to honor excellence in academics, leadership and sportsmanship.To learn more about the ITA, click here. 

Teams competing this weekend at Gustavus include:


















Northwestern-St. Paul

Saint Mary’s


St. Catherine

St. Norbert 

St. Olaf 

St. Scholastica 

St. Thomas

UW-Eau Claire

UW-La Crosse