Women's Basketball Archives

1998-99 Women's Basketball Review

Summary | MIAC Scholar Athlete | Letterwinners | Awards

Women’s Basketball Team Sets School Record for Wins in Conference Play

It was a record breaking year for the women’s basketball team as they compiled a record of 18-7 overall to tie the school record for wins in a season while also accumulating a mark of 17-5 in MIAC play which set a new school record for wins in a season against MIAC opponents. Head Coach Peg Moline and her squad finished fourth in the MIAC behind St. Ben’s, St. Thomas and St. Olaf. One of the high points of the season for the Gusties was a 53-42 win over nationally ranked St. Thomas at home in mid-January. Depth was a key to success for the team this season as ten different players were a part of the regular rotation. Junior guard Shelly Bishop was the team’s leading scorer with an average of 11.4 points per game. Post-season honors received by the squad included Shelly Bishop and Sara Schonrock being named to the all-conference team, Sara Schonrock being named to the MIAC’s All-Defensive team and Carey Willis being selected to the league’s All-First Year team.

Peg Moline Named MIAC Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year

The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference’s women’s basketball coaches have selected Gustavus Head Coach Peg Moline as the league’s Coach of the Year for 1998-99. Moline directed her team to a 17-5 mark and a fourth place finish in the MIAC. The 17 conference wins set a school record for league wins in a season breaking the old mark of 15 set in 1990-91. Moline, who is the winningest coach in the program’s history, also picked up her 100th career victory on February 13 as the Gusties defeated Macalester 61-35. Through seven full seasons, Moline has compiled an overall record of 102-74. She is the first women’s basketball coach at Gustavus to be honored as the MIAC’s Coach of the Year.

up to top

MIAC Scholar Athlete

Name Yr. Hometown Major
Jenny Bendzick SO Jordan Sec. Educ./
Social Studies
Shelly Bishop JR Owatonna Management
Tricia Loo SO Blaine Sec. Educ./
Tricia Niebuhr SO Gibbon English
Nikki Otto SO Shakopee Sec. Educ./
Social Studies
Liz Reed SR Faribault Health
Sara Schonrock SR Winnebago Economics
Nissa Stolp JR Mankato Nursing

up to top


Name Yr . Hometown Letter(s)
Melissa Barkalow FY St. Cloud 1
Jenny Bendzick SO Jordan 2
Shelly Bishop JR Owatonna 3
Katie Hansen JR White Bear Lk. 3
Jessica Hogan SO Fulda 2
Kristin Johnson FY Mendota Heights 1
Heidi Kaufmann SO Roseville 1
Tricia Loo SO Blaine 2
Leah Mathre FY Cold Spring 1
Tricia Niebuhr SO Gibbon 2
Kate Reiman FY Cannon Falls 1
Sara Schonrock SR Winnebago 2
Nissa Stolp JR Mankato 3
Nikki Otto SO Shakopee 2
Carey Willis FY Plymouth 1

up to top


Captains: Sara Schonrock, Katie Hansen, Shelly Bishop
All-Conference: Sara Schonrock, Shelly Bishop
All-Defensive: Sara Schonrock
All-First Year Team: Carey Willis

Season: 17-5 Conference, 18-7 Overall