Men's Swimming and Diving Archives

1998-99 Men's Swimming Review

Summary | MIAC Scholar Athelete | Letterwinners | Awards

Men’s Swimming Records Strong Conference and National Championship Finishes

Coach Jon Carlson and the Gustavus men’s swimming team recorded its fifth consecutive second place finish at the MIAC Championships and then continued on to score points at the NCAA Championships for the fourth consecutive year and record a 34th place finish. Team depth and strong relays allowed the Gusties to score 748 points at the MIAC
Championships, however, the squad again finished behind rival St. Olaf which scored 935.5 points. Senior Kevin O’Laughlin claimed Gustavus’ only individual event title as he won the 200 yard freestyle. Individuals earning all-conference honors as a result of finishing in the top three in their event included Chris Kramer in the 500 and 1650
free, Jeff Simonson in the 200 and 400 individual medley and 200 fly, Chris Price in the 100 back, and 100 and 200 fly, Nate Liddle in the 100 free and Kevin O’Laughlin in the 200 free. O’Laughlin advanced to the NCAA Championship meet for the third consecutive year and performed very well as he finished eighth in the 50 free with a school record time of 20.70, 12th in the 100 free and 24th in the 200 free. As a result of finishing in the top eight in the 50 free, O’Laughlin received All-America honors.

up to top

MIAC Scholar Athlete

Name Yr . Hometown Major
Justin Gathercoal SR St. Peter Elem. Education
Marshall Lichty SR Apple Valley Comm./Religion
Casey McGovern SR Northfield Communications
Josh Salzman SO Longmont, CO Athletic Training

up to top


Name Yr. Hometown Letter(s)
Nick Austin FY Austin 1
Adam Bengtson SO Burnsville 1
Aaron Bitter SR Boulder, CO 2
Ken Brown JR Milwaukee, WI 2
Reid Foster FY Hustchinson 1
Justin Gathercoal SR St. Peter 4
Sean Goodman SO Prairie du Sac, WI 2
Dennis Griebenow SO Fridley 2
Shane Holmseth SR Mankato 4
Andrew Kestly SO Chisholm 2
Chris Kramer FY Marine 1
Paul Landahl FY Chicago, IL 1
Marshall Lichty SR Apple Valley 4
Nate Liddle FY Eagan 1
Alex Lindstrom SR Scandia 3
Pete Lofgren SR Elk River 4
Matt Long SR Lakeville 4
Thor Lossen FY Winona 1
Allen Lundberg FY Minneapolis 1
Casey McGovern SR Northfield 3
Logan Mitton FY Forest Lake 1
Kevin O’Lauglin SR North Mankato 4
Chris Price FY Fridley 1
Josh Saizman SO Longmont, CO 2
Jeff Simonson FY Red Wing 1
Brian Smith JR Two Harbors 2
Chris Swee SO Moorhead 2
Matt Tjosaas FY Moorhead 1
Steve Torrey SO Owatonna 2
James Wetherbee JR Sartell 3

up to top


All-Conference: Marshall Lichty (200 R-Free - 1:25.17), James Wetherbee (200 R-Free, 400 R-Free - 3:08.19), Nate Liddle (200 R-Free, 400 R-Medley - 3:37.88, 800 R-Free - 6:59.99, 400 R-Free), Kevin O’Laughlin (200 R-Free, 200 Free - 1:43.67, 800 R-Free, 400 R-Free), Chris Kramer (500 Free - 4:47.21, 800 R-Free, 1650 Free - 17:06.04), Jeff Simonson (200 IM - 1:59.61; 400 R-Medley, 400 IM - 4:16.78, 800 R-Free, 200 Fly - 2:01.17, 400 R-Free), Casey McGovern (400 R-Medley), Chris Price (400 R-Medley, 100 Fly - 54.28, 100 Back - 55.32, 200 Fly - 2:04.21)
Kevin O’Laughlin (50 Free - 20.70)