Men's Soccer 2002 Archive

Record: 12-4-1
MIAC: 8-2-0 (2nd place)

The Gustavus men's soccer team finished the season 12-4-1 overall, 8-2-0 in the MIAC, good enough for second place in the conference. The Gusties had a ten match unbeaten streak during the middle of the season before losing three out of five to close out the year. Three players were named to the all-conference team including senior Adam MacLeod-Roth, senior Eric Carl, and sophomore Joe Hartwell. First-year Bobby Kroog received honorable mention. MacLeod-Roth was a three-time all-conference selection. Carl was the team's leading scorer with 10 golas, four assits, and 24 points. Both of those players were named to the NSCAA All-West Region Team. MacLeod-Roth was named to the first team while Carl was named to the second team. MacLeod-Roth was named to the second-team All-America squad.

Roster
Results
Statistics

Roster

No. Name YR Pos. Ht. Hometown/High School
00 Eric Byington FY
GK
6'1" Colorado Springs, CO / Evangelical Christian Academy
01 Nate Hitch SO GK 6'0" Lakeville, MN / Lakeville
02 Andy Bornhorst SR
B
5'7" Plymouth, MN / Wayzata
03 Jordan Iblings FY
B
6'2" Plymouth, MN / Armstrong
04 Adam MacLeod-Roth* SR
B
6'1" Minneapolis, MN / South
05 Elliot Stewart-Franzen JR
B
6'2" Minneapolis, MN / Academy of Holy Angels
06 Bobby Kroog FY
MF
5'11 Bloomington, MN / Jefferson
07 Keith Thomas SR
F
6'0" Dublin, Ireland / Mahtomedi, MN
08 Nick Samsal SO
MF
5'10" Bloomington, MN / Jefferson
09 Taylor Stein SO
F
5'9" Minneapolis, MN / Southwest
10 Danny Dietl* SR
MF
5'8" Minneapolis, MN / Southwest
11 Scott Storlie JR
MF
5'10" St. Louis Park, MN
12 Kevin Quealy SR
MF
6'0" Plymouth, MN / Benidle - St. Margaret's
13 Aboma Merdasa SO
F
5'8" Minneapolis, MN / St. Anthony
14 Fru Ngwa SR
F
5'10" Minneapolis, MN / Washburn
15 Joe Hartwell SO
B
5'9" Apple Valley, MN / Eastview
16 Joe Palmer JR
B
5'9" Mankato, MN / Mankato West
18 Ryan Kaufman JR
B
6'2" Apple Valley, MN
19 Chad Ransom SO
MF
5'11" St. Charles, IL / East
20 Jonathan Astry FY
MF
5'11" Eden Prairie, MN
21 Eric Carl* SR
F
5'11" Apple Valley, MN
22 Caleb Bousu FY
F
6'0" Burnsville, MN
23 Grant Morlock FY
D
5'11" Moorhead, MN
33 Andy Moulton SO
GK
6'0" St. Peter, MN

* Denotes Captains

Head Coach: Larry Zelenz (17th Season)
Assistant Coach: Dave Graham

* Captain

Date Opponent Time
Sat, Aug. 31 University of Puget Sound
@ Colorado Springs, CO
2-1
Sun, Sep. 1 Colorado College
@ Colorado Springs, CO
1-2
Sat., Sept. 7 @ Simpson College
3-1
Sat, Sept 14 RIPON COLLEGE
7-1
Wed, Sept 18 CARLETON COLLEGE
4-0
Sat, Sept 21 @ Concordia College
1-0
Fri, Sept 27 ST. JOHN'S UNIV.
2-1
Tue, Oct 1 ST. MARY'S UNIV.
1-0
Sat, Oct 5 @ St. Olaf College
4-0
Wed, Oct 9 ST. THOMAS UNIV.
1-0
Sat, Oct 12 UW-OSHKOSH
1-1
Wed, Oct 16 @ Viterbo
2-1
Sat, Oct 19 NEBRASKA WESLEYAN
0-1
Sat, Oct 26 @ Augsburg College
5-2
Tue, Oct 29 BETHEL COLLEGE
1-2
Fri, Nov 1 @ Macalester College
0-1
Sat, Nov 9 @ Hamline Univ.
2-0

Home games are shown in BOLD UPPERCASE.