Men's Basketball 2002-03 Archive

Overall: 26-7
MIAC: 15-5 (2nd Place)

The men's basketball team capped off one of the most memorable runs in the program's history by placing second in the NCAA National Championship Tournament. Gustavus won the MIAC Playoff Tournament and qualified for the NCAA Tournament by defeating Bethel 65-64 at home in the semi-final round and top-seeded St. Thomas 62-36 on the road in the championship round. The Gusties then defeated Whitworth, UW-Stevens Point, Hanover and Occidental to reach the Final Four, which was held in Salem, Virginia, for the first time in the program's history. Gustavus defeated Hampden-Sydney in the national semi-final round. The Gusties then were edged by Williams 67-65 in the national championship game.
Junior Tim Brown and senior Dave Newell were named to the MIAC All-Conference team. Junior Chris TeBrake was named to the All-Defensive Team. Brown was named to the d3hoops.com All-West Region Team and earned honorable mention All-America honors.

Schedule | Roster | Statistics

2002-03 Schedule
*Click on the score to view game statistics

Date Opponent Time
Sat., Nov. 23 Luther W 71-59
Mon., Dec. 2 MARTIN LUTHER W 66-51
Wed., Dec.4 Augsburg W 71-53
Sat.. Dec. 7 CONCORDIA W 88-65
Mon., Dec. 9 ST. OLAF W 67-53
Fri., Dec. 27-28 Westmont Tourney
Fri., Dec. 27 University of Puget Sound W 77-72
Sat. Dec. 28 Westmont College L 58-59
Mon., Dec. 30 University of La Verne W 91-77
Sat., Jan. 4 HAMLINE W 70-52
Mon., Jan. 6 MACALESTER L 65-70
Wed., Jan. 8 St. Thomas L 70-74
Sat., Jan. 11 ST. MARY'S W 92-57
Wed., Jan. 15 St. John's L 56-58
Sat., Jan. 18 BETHEL W 63-57
Mon., Jan. 20 Carleton L 64-78
Wed., Jan. 22 AUGSBURG W 73-64
Sat., Jan. 25 Concordia W 76-58
Wed., Jan. 29 St. Olaf W 66-59
Mon., Feb. 3 Hamline W 81-56
Wed., Feb. 5 Macalester W 59-57
Sat., Feb. 8 ST. THOMAS
Wed., Feb. 12 St. Mary's W 73-64
Sat., Feb. 15 ST. JOHN'S W 68-54
Wed., Feb. 19 Bethel W 73-67
Sat., Feb. 22 CARLETON W 76-54
Tues., Feb. 25 MIAC Tournament
1st Round
Bye
Thurs., Feb. 27 BETHEL
MIAC Tournament
2nd Round
W 65-64
Sat., Mar. 1 St. Thomas
MIAC Tournament
Finals
W 62-36
Thurs., Mar. 6 Whitworth
NCAA Tournament
First Round
W 65-55
Sat., Mar 8 Stevens Point
NCAA Tournament
Second Round
W 75-62
Fri., Mar 14 Hanover (IN)
@ Buena Vista in
Storm Lake, Iowa

NCAA Tournament
Section Semis
W 79-66
Sat., Mar 15 Occidental
@ Buena Vista in
Storm Lake, Iowa

NCAA Tournament
Section Finals
W 74-56
Fri., Mar 21 Hampden-Sydney
in Salem, Virginia
NCAA Tournament
Semifinals
W 79-68
Sat, Mar 22 Williams
in Salem, Virginia
NCAA Tournament
Championship
L 65-67

BOLD indicates home games.

2002-03 Roster

No. Name Yr Position Ht. Hometown/High School
4 Doug Espenson SO Wing 6-4 Mankato, Minn./East
10 Hans Sviggum SR Guard 5-8 Kenyon, Minn.
12 Adam Hoffarber FY Guard 5-11 Hopkins, Minn.
20 Chris TeBrake JR Wing 6-1 St. Peter, Minn.
21 Trent Hollerich FY Wing 6-3 Good Thunder, Minn.
23 Matt Royer FY Wing 6-3 Pequot Lakes, Minn.
30 Eric Nelson JR Wing 6-3 Mendota Heights, Minn/Sibley
32 Brett Boese JR Wing 6-4 Rochester, Minn./Mayo
33 Tim Brown JR Wing 6-5 Bloomington, Minn./Jefferson
34 Adam TeBrake FY Wing 6-5 St. Peter, Minn.
40 Derek Nelson SR Post 6-5 Lyle, Minn.
43 Adam Thorson JR Post 6-5 Houston, Minn./Rushford Peterson
44 David Newell SR Wing 6-5 Fergus Falls, Minn.
54 John Wippler FY Post 6-6 Vadnais Heights, Minn./White Bear Lake