Athletic Hall of Fame

The Gustavus Adolphus College Hall of Fame was established in 1978 at which time 19 "Charter Members" were inducted either as coaches or as athletes. As of the fall of 2022, 348 individuals (321 athletes, 16 coaches and 11 benefactors) have been elected to the Hall of Fame.

The former Hall of Fame room on the second floor of the Lund Center was originally partially endowed by the families of both Dwight Holcombe's (the only father/son combination holding membership in the Hall). The hardwood plaque upon which the individual plates are permanently displayed, now in the Hall of Champions, was donated by the family of former football coach and Hall of Fame member Jocko Nelson, who passed away in 1978.

Beth DeLaRosby Murray

Swimming & Diving

Inducted: 2021

Beth DeLaRosby Murray, one of the premier sprinters in all of Division III in the early 2000s, was a five-time All-American and eight-time MIAC champion from 2001-05. DeLaRosby Murray made an immediate impact on the women’s swimming program by anchoring the MIAC champion 200 free and 200 medley relay teams in her first year as a Gustie. During her sophomore season, DeLaRosby Murray was again part of the MIAC-winning 200 free relay team that went on to take seventh place at the 2003 NCAA Championships, allowing her to receive her first of five All-America certificates. DeLaRosby Murray and her teammates repeated as MIAC champions in the 200 free relay in 2004 and she added conference titles in the 200 medley relay and claimed her first conference individual title in the 50 freestyle. At the NCAA
Championships, DeLaRosby took third place in the 50 free, which remains the best individual finish at the national meet in program history.

DeLaRosby Murray closed out her career in grand style as she once again anchored the winning 200 free relay team at the 2005 MIAC Championships, giving her the rare honor of a fourth consecutive league title in that event. She was also a part of the MIAC champion 200 medley relay and 400 free relay teams. At the 2005 NCAA Championships, DeLaRosby Murray took sixth in the 50 free and second in the 200 free relay, marking the best relay finish at the national meet in program history. Always looking to improve while giving full effort, DeLaRosby Murray earned 10 All-America honorable mention distinctions, 23 All-Conference honors, and was a nine-time NCAA “A” achiever. A strong finisher who found another gear in relays, DeLaRosby Murray graduated as the school record holder in the 50 free, 100 free, 200 medley relay, 200 free relay, and 400 free relay.

After graduating in 2005 with majors in psychology and criminal justice, DeLaRosby Murray was an assistant men’s and women’s swim coach at Wheaton College from 2005-06. From 2006-08, she was the graduate assistant men’s and women’s swim coach at Springfield College. Since 2008, DeLaRosby Murray has been the head women’s swim & dive coach and aquatics director at Carthage College, where she has earned five CCIW Coach of the Year honors and captured three conference championships. Beth lives in Kenosha, Wis. with her husband Kenneth and their daughter Audrey.