Athletic Hall of Fame

The Gustavus Adolphus College Hall of Fame was established in 1978 at which time 19 "Charter Members" were inducted either as coaches or as athletes. As of the fall of 2022, 348 individuals (321 athletes, 16 coaches and 11 benefactors) have been elected to the Hall of Fame.

The former Hall of Fame room on the second floor of the Lund Center was originally partially endowed by the families of both Dwight Holcombe's (the only father/son combination holding membership in the Hall). The hardwood plaque upon which the individual plates are permanently displayed, now in the Hall of Champions, was donated by the family of former football coach and Hall of Fame member Jocko Nelson, who passed away in 1978.

Adryn Sponberg

Football and Wrestling

Inducted: 1985

Ade Sponberg dominated the wrestling picture at Gustavus and in the MIAC during the mid-fifties. A two- sport athlete -- he also earned three letters in football, playing both ways and captaining the 1957 team -- he was a four-time conference wrestling champion. As a freshman he won the title at 127 lbs., and as a sophomore the heavyweight crown; he dropped weight in his junior season to help the team and won the 177 Ib, crown again, and then capped his career with another title at heavyweight (while also serving as student coach). He qualified for NCAA competition as a junior and finished third in the NAIA nationals as a senior. Ade was named recipient of the college's Langsjoen Medal in 1958.
Following a teaching stint at St. James he returned to Gustavus in 1961 as wrestling and assistant football coach, and led the wrestling team to the MIAC title in 1966. After earning his Ph.D from the University of Michigan, he became athletic director at Augustana College in South Dakota. In 1973 Ade accepted the athletic director's position at North Dakota State University. In 1984 he was elected NCAA Division lI vice president. He and his wife, Donna, live in Fargo.