2010 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Gymnastics Championship

WIAC Gymnastics Championships logo

UW-Whitewater Wins 2010

WIAC Gymnastics Crown

ST. PETER, Minn.--University of Wisconsin-Whitewater secured its first-ever title at the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Women’s Gymnastics Championship that was held at Gustavus Adolphus College’s (Minn.) Lund Center Forum - Gus Young Court on March 7.

The Warhawks claimed their first-place trophy with 185.475 team points to surpass 13-time defending champion UW-La Crosse’s second-place total of 183.775 points.Winona State University (Minn.) placed third with 183.600 points, UW-Eau Claire fourth with 180.325 points, UW-Oshkosh fifth with 179.675 points, UW-Stout sixth with 178.725 points, Gustavus Adolphus seventh with 175.275 points and Hamline University (Minn.) eighth with 175.100.

The championship also served as the West Regional qualifier for the National Collegiate Gymnastics Association (NCGA) Championships that will be held March 26-27 at Springfield College in Springfield, Mass.UW-Whitewater, UW-La Crosse and Winona State earned team spots into the national meet.

UW-Stout’s Meghan Hargens claimed the all-around title for the second straight season with 37.875 points.She is the first individual in WIAC listings to secure back-to-back crowns since UW-La Crosse’s Ashley Koechel in 2004-05.

UW-La Crosse’s Gabi Hooper was victorious in the vault for the second consecutive year and third time in her career.She secured this year’s crown with a score of 9.625 and also placed first in 2007.

Hooper and UW-Stout’s Naomi DeLara shared first-place in the floor exercise with a score of 9.675.Hooper also won the event at the 2007 championship, while DeLara joined Meghan Hargens (2009) as the only individuals in team history to capture the event.

UW-Whitewater’s Justin Weyer claimed a first-place medal in the uneven bars for the third consecutive season with a score of 9.650.She joined UW-Oshkosh’s Mary Leivian (1986-88) as the only competitors in conference history to claim three straight titles in the event.

UW-Eau Claire’s Danielle Schulzetenberg secured the balance beam with a score of 9.725.She is the third individual in program history to win the discipline, joining Sue Guerin (1978, 1980) and Erin Henrich (2002).

The top six finishers in each event secured All-Conference recognition.

UW-Whitewater head coach Jennifer Regan and Winona State head coach Beckie Rolbiecki were voted the Co-Coaches of the Year, while UW-La Crosse’s Gabi Hooper and UW-Stout’s Meghan Hargens were named Judy Kruckman Co-Scholar-Athletes.

An All-Sportsmanship Team was announced for individuals that displayed exemplary sportsmanship throughout the season.Named to the squad were:UW-Eau Claire’s Lanai Peer, UW-La Crosse’s Christina Manelli, UW-Oshkosh’s Gretchen Fackelman, UW-Stout’s Taryn Fawcett, UW-Whitewater’sJustine Weyer, Gustavus Adolphus’ Kelly Mathewson, Hamline’s Rebecca McLaughlin and Winona State’s Amanda Cotter.

Individual Event Champions:

Vault: Gabi Hooper (UW-La Crosse), 9.625

Uneven Bars: Justine Weyer (UW-Whitewater), 9.650

Balance Beam: Danielle Schulzetenberg (UW-Eau Claire), 9.725

Floor Exercise: Naomi DeLara (UW-Stout) and Gabi Hooper (UW-La Crosse), 9.675

All-Around: Meghan Hargens (UW-Stout), 37.875

Judy Kruckman Co-Scholar-Athletes:Gabi Hooper of La Crosse and Meghan Hargens of Stout

Co-Coaches of the Year:Jennifer Regan of UW-Whitewater and Beckie Rolbiecki of Winona State

Complete 2010 WIAC Championship Results

SportPix 2010 WIAC Championship Photo Gallery

Flikr Photo Gallery

UW-Whitewater 2010 WIAC Champs

Gustavus Set To Host 2010

WIAC Gymnastics Championship

The University of Wisconsin-La Crosse will seek a 14th consecutive title at the 2010 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Women’s Gymnastics Championship. The 37th gathering of league foes will take place at Gustavus Adolphus College (Minn.) on March 7, at 3:00 p.m.

The Eagles, who own a conference-high 20 first-place trophies, claimed last season’s crown with 187.200 team points to surpass UW-Whitewater’s second-place total of 185.100 points. Winona State University (Minn.) finished third with 182.925 points, UW-Stout fourth with 180.850 points, UW-Oshkosh fifth with 179.925 points, Gustavus Adolphus sixth with 179.400 points, Hamline University (Minn.) seventh with 178.875 points and UW-Eau Claire ninth with 173.450 points.

The conference championship will also serve as the West Regional qualifier for the National Collegiate Gymnastics Association Championships (NCGA) that will be held March 26-27 at Springfield College in Springfield, Mass. The top three teams from the WIAC event, along with several qualified gymnasts, will advance to the national meet.

Three student-athletes that have combined to win 11 WIAC titles will compete in this year’s conference championship.

Leading the returnees is UW-Whitewater senior Justine Weyer who owns five first-place medals. She has claimed back-to-back titles in the uneven bars and could become the second individual in WIAC archives to win three straight championships, joining UW-Oshkosh’s Mary Leivian (1986-88). At the 2008 league festival, Weyer won the all-around, vault and floor exercise.

UW-La Crosse senior Gabi Hooper has claimed four first-place finishes in her career. A year ago, she won the vault after placing first in the balance beam in 2008. In 2007, Hooper tallied first-place standings in the vault and floor exercise.

UW-Stout senior Meghan Hargens earned a pair of titles at the 2009 championship, securing the all-around and floor exercise.

The top six individuals in each event at the WIAC championship will receive All-Conference recognition.

Visitor Information

Competition will take place in the Lund Center Forum.

Directions to Gustavus Adolphus College.

Campus Map

Map Quest Directions

Ticket Prices

Adults: $8.00 Students: $5.00 10 Under/65 Older: Free

Lund Center Forum